Community
Search
Notices
RCV Engines Support Ask RCV Technical Support all your RCV engine questions!

RCV 120

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2010, 02:51 PM
vgless

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RCV 120

I recently purchased an RCV 120 that I mounted on a 60 scale Rare Bear. I have little experience with four stroke engines. I started the engine with factory setting and it ran fine except it got hot fast. It burned a hole in the exhaust deflector I had on it and damaged the fiber glass of the fuselage. I richened the low end considerably and got the engine running allitle cooler, however, the highest reading I get on my tachometer is around 524 RPM. The users manual is not very specific about setting up the engine, and I could use some help. I believe I have the low end set at around twelve turns out.

Old 08-16-2010, 05:37 AM
andi3142001

Default RE: RCV 120

Hello,
first I would get back to factory needle setting as described in the manual.
Second, for the the first break in remove the cowling so you can be shure there is adequate cooling.
What fuel do you use?
Do you have a pic of engine installation and cowling?

regards
Andi
Old 08-16-2010, 08:05 PM
Joe Lott

vgless,

Do as Andi says and get your low end needle back to its factory setting. Go strictly by the manual during the break-in period. The engine will run very rough at first, but will smooth out the more it's run. If you used a silicone exhaust deflector, throw it away. They are useless for these engines. The 4 stroke exhaust is just too hot. Your engine should achieve its best performance after you have run a gallon or so of fuel through it.