Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - Electric
Reload this Page >

Supervee Defective - Tower/Aquacraft.

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - Electric For all your electric boating needs.

Supervee Defective - Tower/Aquacraft.

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2008, 10:46 PM
masfirme2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Supervee Defective - Tower/Aquacraft.

I just recently ordered a brand spanking new Aquacraft Supervee 27 brushless from Tower Hobbies. I am very dissapointed considering opening a new boat is suppose to be exciting as with anything you buy new. The first thing I noticed was a couple fish eyes in the gel coat, which I am ok with. I then further examined the boat and found the paint to be running right under the hatch sticker which indicates a careless job by whoever did the gelcoat. The boat also has 2 small cracks right around where the surface drive meets the hull. I am no expert assembler but to me that seems like someone tightened down the screws too hard. On the tip of the bow there is paint missing with a pen tip sized hole where it looks like gel coat chipped off. Further examining the boat I noticed the styrofoam up front has both corners cracked and practically falling off. The hatch sticker is not correctly adheared to the hatch as well, there are a few bubbles under the sticker.

Am I being too critical? I spend a good part of my life paying attention to detail and making sure things are done right and not have assed, a half ass job is worse than no job at all. I figured I would post and see if the cracks are anything to worry about. I understand stress cracks but that happens when the boat has been ran before. In my opinion these types of errors are unacceptable from anyone, especially a company as big as Tower.
On another note the quality of this boat is superior to proboats products. The boat feels alot more solid than the blackjack and includes velcro for the batteries which is a small plus.

Thanks for reading.
Chris