Notices
Speed - RC Gas Boats Discuss gas RC boats right here!

rudders??

Old 08-26-2005, 04:41 PM
  #1  
littlebri
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: clearwater, FL
Posts: 147
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rudders??

does anyone know of a company other then marine specialties that makes a duel rudder setup? not that their kit dosn't look good, i just heard that they are heavy. is it possible to buy two rudders(i like the ones from ballintine) and make them work togather, without being an engineer?
Old 08-26-2005, 05:53 PM
  #2  
Davcruz
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quinton, VA
Posts: 728
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

Check [link=http://www.whobbies.com/index1.html]here at WHH[/link], but I think the Marine Specialties is the least expensive dual unit I have seen. I have one on a SK Daddle and it is not THAT heavy, but it is cast vs. machined.
Old 08-26-2005, 06:12 PM
  #3  
littlebri
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: clearwater, FL
Posts: 147
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

thanks for the info. i would rather spend a few more bucks then have my steering systym break in the middle of a run. any ideas on making two rudders bought seperately work togather?
Old 08-26-2005, 07:36 PM
  #4  
Davcruz
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quinton, VA
Posts: 728
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

It really just depends on the location and angles of the control arms. If they are in such a way that you can connect them with a rod so that one will follow the other then it is doable.
Old 08-27-2005, 08:43 AM
  #5  
wiz0852
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 148
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

The HRB twin rudder set up with the 2 in standoff is not a sub standard piece of work. Any rudder setup with break away rudder pins just might break in the middle of a run for the main fact that you probably hit something in the water, better that than bustung your transon out! I run the HRB rudders with a Phirana surface drive, I didn`t use the HRB strut because I like the single piece surface drive better. Just remember, just because it doesn`t cost a zillion dollars doesn`t mean the cheaper one is junk...
ORIGINAL: littlebri

thanks for the info. i would rather spend a few more bucks then have my steering systym break in the middle of a run. any ideas on making two rudders bought seperately work togather?
Old 08-27-2005, 09:07 AM
  #6  
Davcruz
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Quinton, VA
Posts: 728
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

ORIGINAL: wiz0852

The HRB twin rudder set up with the 2 in standoff is not a sub standard piece of work. Any rudder setup with break away rudder pins just might break in the middle of a run for the main fact that you probably hit something in the water, better that than bustung your transon out! I run the HRB rudders with a Phirana surface drive, I didn`t use the HRB strut because I like the single piece surface drive better. Just remember, just because it doesn`t cost a zillion dollars doesn`t mean the cheaper one is junk...
ORIGINAL: littlebri

thanks for the info. i would rather spend a few more bucks then have my steering systym break in the middle of a run. any ideas on making two rudders bought seperately work togather?
I agree with you wiz, and I like the HBR setup, but you have to admit it is more likely that you will break a cast part vs a machine part and I think it unlikely hitting something with a machined rudder would break the transom before moving, bending or even breaking it.

I think for the cost the HBR is a very nice setup and on these big gas boats the weight is really not an issue at all. It is really not an issue on our 36" SK Daddle w/nitro engine.

Old 12-17-2005, 02:50 PM
  #7  
fishy2k8
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
fishy2k8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Avon, IN
Posts: 829
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

is there a fin on the bottom of the sk daddle? or is that just the sk dadde too?
Old 12-17-2005, 03:26 PM
  #8  
xxxboatworks
Senior Member
 
xxxboatworks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ft.lauderdale, FL
Posts: 944
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

Yes, you can tie two rudders together. Here is a pic of two Topsecret rudders that I connected together with some aluminum stock and 6-32 ball joints:

http://p086.ezboard.com/fjimsrcboatd...art=61&stop=80

If you have the money, try to get something cnc machined. The cast parts look cheesy (in my opinion) and are of inferior quailty to a cnc machined aluminum part.
Old 12-17-2005, 05:28 PM
  #9  
w3bby
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Helsingborg, SWEDEN
Posts: 929
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

PiP does a nice setup, these were/are used a lot in Europe as the offshore class need to turn left as well..


and another setup from Mini Racing Teknik in Sweden..
Old 12-18-2005, 12:22 PM
  #10  
Zac Price
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Uniondale, IN
Posts: 359
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: rudders??

This is what I carry:



[link=http://www.americanrcboats.com/products/hardware/pantherdual.htm]More pics[/link]

This was designed for our Comet hull, but if you have 7" of transom height, it will work.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.