Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Need help building hydro

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Need help building hydro

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2005, 07:17 AM
tt-r

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help building hydro

I ordered some plans from Roger Newton of the Smokin Joe -94.
I have never built a boat from scratch before, but building many planes from scratch helps me understand the wood and glue world.
The thing i wonder the most is how people transfer the drawings to actual lines on the ply.
I gues templates is the right way to go, but how do you draw them ?
I dont want to mess up the plans either.
If someone with hydrobuilding experience could write a step by step instruction or sometihng i would wery much apreaciate that

Thanks in advance
Old 06-10-2005, 08:27 AM
Square Nozzle
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Need help building hydro

As with you, I never like to destroy the plans to make templates. I simply put a piece of carbon paper between the plans and the wood and trace the plans, transfering the image to the wood. I use ships curves, straight edges and circle templates where necessary to trace an accurate image. People have also had the plans copied and sacrafice the copy for templates. Tracing is easier.
Old 06-10-2005, 08:34 AM
jw637362

tt-r - What I have done is take the plans to the nearest Kinkos and get them copied about 2 or three sets. I never work with or ruin the original plans.
\ After you have copied them, cut the pieces out and use a spray adhesive to attach them to the wood you wish to cut.
Then either draw / trace the parts onto the wood or just cut it out with a scroll saw.

This has worked quite well for me and then when you are all done cutting the peices out you have the reference of the original to put the cut pieces on and sand to final shape if needed.