Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

OVERHEATING!!

Community
Search
Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

OVERHEATING!!

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 02:43 PM
mrhydro-inacitve

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OVERHEATING!!

Hello I am new to this hobby so your assistance would be greatly appreciated. Have new .15 Dynamite motor which is still being broken (now on 4th tank). Needle set very rich as per book (4 turns out), have run boat in water at no more than 25% throttle and using heat cycle method.
Problem I am having is that motor overheats after only 5 min of running and cuts out. Have to let cool down before restarting. When boat is moving can see great flow of water coming out of motor cooling head.
Did not have this overheating problem on previous tanks, seems funny that on 4th tank of break-in motor is now overheating, have not adjusted needle settings, have not changed fuel and there has been no change in air/water temps.
Could problem be that engine needs to be leaned out for performance as stated in book, but I guess that would not be logical as less fuel would mean hotter motor...right!!

By the way motor is being run in a Miss Elam hydro...

ciao
Old 11-21-2006, 07:20 PM
ryan_t888

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default RE: OVERHEATING!!

While helping others I find the most common problem from engines stalling after a short period of time is they start to lean out as they warm up. Although you did say your running it very rich.
I've helped get a Miss Bud going and the problem with it is it had a very lean LSN from the factor completely effecting the tune.
I have also seen where the feed tube in the tank has a hole in it causing the engine to lean out when the fuel level reaches this hole.

How do you know the engine is overheating?