Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > Speed - RC Nitro Boats
Reload this Page >

Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Notices
Speed - RC Nitro Boats For all your rc nitro fuel burning boating needs.

Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Old 07-09-2009, 01:40 AM
  #1  
mmarionz
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Hey guys

So I am in the process of refitting my TC31
I purchased a Prather 8020 flex cable which I believe is correct apart from trimming for length
However when I went to give it a test fit not only does the drive dog not fit over the stub shaft but the cable itself just will not go anywhere near fitting the stuffing tube.
The stock cable fits snugly.
I realise I need to grind a flat section down for the drive dog set screw.
What am I missing here?
Do I need a new teflon liner or what
Cable packet reads as follows 3/16 x 12 flex cable with 3/16 x 3-1/8 stub shaft.

Thanks for the help [8D]
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo38853.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	46.2 KB
ID:	1232387   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gb89243.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	32.9 KB
ID:	1232388  
Old 07-09-2009, 02:50 PM
  #2  
black talon
My Feedback: (5)
 
black talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: longwood, FL
Posts: 438
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

i have a tc 31 also,i haven't changed the cable but i heard that the stuffing tube and teflon liner are a freak size. that may be the problem.
Old 07-10-2009, 10:11 PM
  #3  
Chriscraft
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cayce, SC
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

hi guy,
Just an observation, or may be my eyes are lying, the cable you recieved seems to be larger than the stock cable
by 1-2mm.
Here is what i TRY TO DO when I am going to purchase from someone I am not familiar with.
I measure props and flex shafts 2 ways, in inches and in milli-meters, so I can be sure of what I am getting.
Then I check to see if what they have is going to work with what I have. Some makers of boat products don't take some things into consideration, so I have to be sure. If I have to call them, then that's what I do.
I know that we run into situations where the supplier does not have what we want in stock, so we try to find others.
Just make sure that you know what you are buying.
I am waiting for some special props I ordered for my PT-109. It's been a month now, but the supplier said I should recieve them next week because he was out of stock at the time I ordered.
Good luck.
[8D]
P.S. the flex cable for the thunder cat is the same as the cable for the shockwave 36.
Old 07-10-2009, 11:01 PM
  #4  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,682
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Nobody noticed yet that the bottom crust rusty cable is wound the wrong way and the upper one has issues also like it's missing a strand of wire.
Old 07-10-2009, 11:10 PM
  #5  
mmarionz
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Ron its brand new so I would hope not.
You mean round the wrong way as in the picture,yes I know.
I do know which way it goes in the boat
Yeah I realise the Thundercat/Shockwave cables are the same.
The problem is I need some thing longer than the stock cable as the boat is getting an OS46 which needs to sit a little further forward.
Hmmm well I guess I just try another brand in that case.
I would have thought a standard size was par for the course.
Old 07-10-2009, 11:18 PM
  #6  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,682
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Try a Hughey B-6666, you can cut it to the length that you need.
Aeromarine also carries nice cables that you might be able to get easier in NZ.
Old 07-11-2009, 12:45 AM
  #7  
mmarionz
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Yep cheers got an Aeromarine on the way.
Hopefully that will work otherwise I guess its new stuffing tube time.
Was hoping to avoid that
Old 07-15-2009, 01:55 AM
  #8  
mmarionz
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: , NEW ZEALAND
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

All is well the Aeromarine fits nicely for future reference
Old 07-15-2009, 09:20 PM
  #9  
Chriscraft
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cayce, SC
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

hi guys,
Well, I can always learn something from somebody.
Now I know where to get a cable if Pro Boat is out-of-stock.
[sm=49_49.gif][sm=idea.gif][8D]
Old 07-15-2009, 10:59 PM
  #10  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,682
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

You'll probably find yourself better off in the long run by going with a Hughey or Aeromarine cable over Pro Boat's. I've seen a lot of issues in here with them from what has appeared to be from solder from the propshaft wicking up too far onto the cable so most of them break going into the transom.
Old 07-16-2009, 09:07 AM
  #11  
black talon
My Feedback: (5)
 
black talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: longwood, FL
Posts: 438
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

ron, do you think overheating the cable might be one of the causes?
Old 07-16-2009, 09:14 AM
  #12  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,682
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

I'm not saying that it couldn't but would be really curious as to how it got overheated. Are we typing about too much when soldering, lack of grease when running or something else?
Old 07-16-2009, 09:32 AM
  #13  
black talon
My Feedback: (5)
 
black talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: longwood, FL
Posts: 438
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

i was thinking they might be applying to much heat when their soldering the cables.
Old 07-16-2009, 09:50 AM
  #14  
Ron Olson
My Feedback: (1)
 
Ron Olson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 18,682
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 16 Posts
Default RE: Thundercat 31 Flex Cable

Yes, it could happen.
OK, I'm not a soldering expert (you'd know that if you ever saw my solder jobs!) but I could see where assembly line hurry-up-and -git-R-done soldering could very well do damage.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.