Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

Hovering

Community
Search
Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

Hovering

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2002, 04:32 PM
jrjohn
My Feedback: (24)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Hovering

Hi My name is John, I'm just learning how to hover. I have already learned how to recover from a stalled hover without loosing hardly any altitude, I can even hover at about 75 feet above the ground for aprox 5 seconds. During the hover I have to apply full right rudder, and eventually it still wants to fall to the left. Is this normal? I was thinking maybe it's important for the plane to be ballanced so each side of the plane is the same weight? Any help on hovering will be greatly appreciated. Maybe I need to blip the throttle more?
I'm flying a hangar 9 Edge 540 with a Saito 180. (plenty of power)

thank you

John

[email protected]
Old 05-15-2002, 04:43 PM
wgeffon
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Hovering

Originally posted by jrjohn
During the hover I have to apply full right rudder, and eventually it still wants to fall to the left.
Do you have any right thrust set in the motor? If so, maybe a little more would help. I just flew one (H9 Edge) yesterday with a Saito 1.80. His plane hovered pretty well without having to add a ton of right rudder.
I thought the Edge and Saito 1.80 combination was just about perfect.
Old 05-15-2002, 07:25 PM
jrjohn

Default Hovering

The Plans didn't call for any right thrust. Please ask the person that one you flew, if he built right thrust into the engine. Have any other ideas? how about the lateral ballance?

John
Old 05-15-2002, 08:07 PM
wgeffon
My Feedback: (4)

Default Hovering

Ok, I will find out and post here.
Old 05-16-2002, 02:23 AM
shmo46

Default Hovering