Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 21 of 21

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    , QC, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Hi,
    I'm new to RC planes but my equipment isn't!
    Back when I was a kid, I built a Hangar 9 Easyfly 40 trainer plane with my dad, but I never got to fly it.

    After letting the plane sit in my father's workshop for roughly 10 years, I've decided to learn how to use it, because I finally found someone who can show me how to fly it.

    My problem is: Although the batteries are good in both the remote and the receiver, when I move the sticks, the servos don't move.

    I've tried some troubleshooting of my own and here's what I can say:
    - The batteries in the remote are good, they stay over 10V for more than an hour and the low battery warning comes on at 8.5V
    - The receiver battery, a 4.8V unit, seems to be good too. When I hook it up to the receiver, the 4 servos on the plane twitch, which tells me there should be enough power to respond to commands from the remote.

    I haven't tried the engine yet because the receiver doesn't respond, obviously, but I also need to get a new 12V battery to run the starter motor and the glowplug warmer.

    Any idea why the receiver won't respond to the remote? I checked and they both have the same frequency crystal. 72.910 if I remember correctly.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Félix.

  2. #2
    Moderator AMA 74894's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Spicer, MN
    Posts
    1,115
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    it's absolutely possible the airborne battery has enough juice to make the servo's jiggle, but not enough to fully power up the receiver and keep it powered.... I'd suggest fully charging both batteries for at least 8 hours and giving it another whirl
    Jim Buzzeo AMA 74894
    P-51 Mustang Brotherhood #37
    Sig Brotherhood #95

  3. #3
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,947
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Check the modulation. Here is a link to the manual:
    http://manuals.hobbico.com/fut/6xas-hs-manual.pdf
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  4. #4
    Moderator CGRetired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Galloway, NJ
    Posts
    8,999
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Joe: Please keep in mind that this is a beginners forum. Modulation might mean something to you, to me, and to others here, but probably not to a beginner. Please keep replies in perspective.

    CGr.
    Skylark 70 - OS .75 AX; Excelleron 90 - OS 1.20 AX; Venus II - OS 1.20 AX; And, I still fly my trainer, Hanger 9 Alpha - OS .46 FX! Some electrics. Airtronics RD8000 - Spektrum DX7 - DX6i. AMA 705964.
    Semper Paratus!

  5. #5
    Jetdesign's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Mason, OH
    Posts
    6,947
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting


    ORIGINAL: CGRetired

    Joe: Please keep in mind that this is a beginners forum. Modulation might mean something to you, to me, and to others here, but probably not to a beginner. Please keep replies in perspective.

    CGr.
    Sure thing!

    The radio in question has the ability to communicate in two different languages, which we call modulation. The two languages are PPM and PCM. You can read more about this on p. 40 of the manual I linked. It is possible your receiver is expecting to hear PPM, while your radio is talking in PCM. Try both 'languages' and see if it helps.

    Your servos jittering when power is applied but not responding to the radio sounds like the communication is not happening. It could be a problem with the channel or crystal, it could be a bad receiver, a problem with the radio, or something simple like a modulation setting.

    Hope this helps!
    Joe Marri
    Enjoying all things aviation.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    , QC, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Oh yeah,
    I have the manual and indeed when you talked about modulation I was a little confused, but yeah, I did see something about PCM and PPM. I actually thought it might be something like this because I read the transmitter could work in FM or some other signal.

    As for the receiver battery, I didn't have my voltmeter to check it but it was charged for as long as the transmitter, so I just assumed it was ok. I'll look into these two possibilities.

    Thanks for the replies.

    By the way, is there any way to check if the remote is working correctly? If it does and the problem is the receiver, can I just change the receiver and keep the same remote and servos?

  7. #7
    Moderator AMA 74894's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Spicer, MN
    Posts
    1,115
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting


    ORIGINAL: 2wheelfiddler
    By the way, is there any way to check if the remote is working correctly? If it does and the problem is the receiver, can I just change the receiver and keep the same remote and servos?
    there isn't an easy way to specifically check if the trans. is working properly or not without swapping out the receiver, transmitter or both....
    but, as long as the replacement receiver is compatible with your transmitter, on the same frequency and Modulation (as was pointed out :^) ) you can use the same transmitter, servos etc with a different receiver.
    Jim Buzzeo AMA 74894
    P-51 Mustang Brotherhood #37
    Sig Brotherhood #95

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    , QC, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Well thanks for the info!
    I know a guy who has been in RC planes for long enough that he should have a FM remote/receiver that I can do tests with.
    I guess all I need to do is make sure I have the same frequency crystal?

  9. #9
    JollyPopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mountain Home, AR
    Posts
    2,147
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    As long as your friend's receiver is either Futaba or Hitec brand, then just make sure the crystals match. Your Futaba transmitter will not communicate with Airtronics or JR brand receivers. Now, assuming that your friend's receiver is Futaba but on a different frequency (different crystal number) you can pull the crystal from your receiver and plug it in to his receiver and test. It is legal to change crystals in the receivers but not in the transmitters.

    There are a myriad of other possibilities, but let's start simply and work toward a solution. I am betting on a bad receiver battery. That is the most likely suspect and the easiest to isolate and fix.

    \"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice; In practice, there is\"

    Intolerance is not to be tolerated

  10. #10
    Moderator AMA 74894's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Spicer, MN
    Posts
    1,115
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    yupper, that should do it...
    I looked at the manual (link) provided by gaRCfield ....
    the TX should display on the LCD screen if it's set to PPM (PROBABLY what you want) or PCM.
    I probably should have asked earlier... what receiver specifically does the airplane have? (it may well say on it PPM or PCM)
    Jim Buzzeo AMA 74894
    P-51 Mustang Brotherhood #37
    Sig Brotherhood #95

  11. #11
    JollyPopper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Mountain Home, AR
    Posts
    2,147
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    ooops, my bad. I thought he said he had already checked that out. That would be the first thing to check.
    \"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice; In practice, there is\"

    Intolerance is not to be tolerated

  12. #12

    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    hemet , CA
    Posts
    899
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    why not just try all new batterys then go from there

  13. #13

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    , QC, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    All very good info guys.
    I will have to check to make sure I'm on PPM but I think I am. My receiver is a FP-R127DF, it's FM
    I thought of changing the batteries right away, but since they seemed to still be good (the one in the remote is) I suspected the receiver was fried. Then I thought, why buy new batteries if I end up having to get a new receiver that may not use the same batteries anyway.

    Impressive amount of feedback guys, I really appreciate it. I'll check my battery with a voltmeter this weekend so I'll know for sure.

  14. #14
    DeferredDefect's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    , ON, CANADA
    Posts
    917
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Hi there,

    I would strongly recommend you replace both batteries completely, whether or not they hold a charge. Don't forget, if you loose the engine, you can land, but if your battery goes, "That's all for now, folks".

    I normally replace mine every three or four years just to be safe.

    As for your problem, I had a similar situation a few months ago. Batteries checked out, crystal was good in both the transmitter and receiver, and all the wires were good. It turns out that the antenna had failed at the solder joint, so all I would get was a glitch at startup. You could also have a faulty wire somewhere - try bypassing the battery straight to the receiver; remove the switch harness all-together to eliminate that as a cause. If nothing still works, try wiggling the plugs a bit - this could reveal a loose wire as well.

    Hope this helps,

    Graeme
    "Any landing you can walk away from probably wasn't that exciting to watch"
    Sig Kadet Brotherhood #8

  15. #15
    Wagon1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Pensacola, FL
    Posts
    175
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Do what Graeme suggested. I did essentially the same thing you did. I let my 6XA sit for about 10 years. I ordered a new TX and RX battery before I did anythnig else. It's a great system, and just about everyone at my field is on 2.4. I pretty much own the frequency board.
    \"Leave the gun, take the cannolis\"

  16. #16

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    11,703
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    What good does it do to "OWN" the frequency board when all of the others can still fly whenever there is a spot open on the flightLine?
    3-D is for Monster Movies

  17. #17

    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Hemderson, NV
    Posts
    13,214
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    I switch back and forth from 2.4 to 72 and it's good to own the board these days but I still have to walk the line, there are two other pilots that still fly once in a while and we are all on 15, it's worth the walk in my case. I have been fooled by the modulation thing a few times, I still have several planes on 72 and one is on PCM and when I change planes I forget to turn my radio on and off to cycle it.
    By all means go buy some new battery packs, after 10 years they may hold a charge for a while but they can go down very fast too. I take in my old packs to Batteries Plus and have them make up new packs for me. It's worth the price just to be sure.
    I lost a plane last year and knew it was my radio having a problem, sent it into Radio South for service and my antenna was not making good contact so one minute all was fine and the next minute my plane was flying itself.
    There can be several problems your system is encountering and it would be a good idea to let your instructor go through your system to try to locate it. On line help is pretty good but hands on would be a lot better.
    Drinking and driving are illegal, why do bars have parking lots
    Daisy Air Guns, keeping kids off your lawn for 100 years

  18. #18

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    11,703
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    10 years of sitting around?? If the new batteries don't produce a rock solid system the send it to a GOOD repair shop for evaluation and repair. Corrosion and such can retune a unit as can individual components drifting in value just due to age. Fly something risky - if you can afford a new plane.
    3-D is for Monster Movies

  19. #19

    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Mumbai, INDIA
    Posts
    2,125
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    I would say that if your Tx remains on, you have a good battery

    Servo twitch doesnt mean anything. I would try and loan a known working battery from a fellow flier and plug that into the RX and then check. That way you dont spend.

    I may be wrong, but I think the 6EX works on PCM mode. Just check because I used to set mine to PPM when I used it on the sim I think. Its several months since I sold the 6EX so I am not sure. The 6EX doesnt come with a replacable module, so that wouldnt be a problem. Make sure you are on PCM mode. But if it doesnt work, try PPM also. You can research your RX on Tower and find out which mode it requires

    If all else fails, gently pull out the crystal from the rear of the TX. It plugs in just like a USB drive but the metal pins are delicate, so be careful. Check for oxidation on the pins. Same on the RX

    Oh yes, try to extend your antenne and see if that helps.

    Check for breaks in the white antanne wire that comes out of your RX

    If all of this checks out, you have probably checked all that you can do. The you need to take it to a proper service centre for a checkup. Futaba has good service support in the US

    Ameyam
    Preflight check is optional , picking up the pieces is consequential

  20. #20
    hogflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Posts
    2,022
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    If the batteries are original to the radio or more then 5 years old, be safe and change them out. They may take a charge and hold it for a bit, but I wouldn't rely on them staying that way. I just lost a club trainer due to the donated battery pack (history unknown) shorting out which caused the plane to spiral down and re-kit itself. Once my batteries hit 5 years old I'll change them regardless of how much charge they hold and for how long. I've seen too many older batteries that checked good short out for no reason.

    I've had really good luck with batteries from Canuck Engineering out of Colorado. Sanyo 2000mAH Eneloop packs: $33.00 for a TX pack, $22.00 for a 6v (5-cell) receiver pack. After the first of the year I'll be ordering a few packs again from him. Eneloops are nice as they will hold a charge sitting on a shelf a lot longer than standard NiMh batteries.

    Hogflyer
    President and Flight Training Coordinator - Wichita Radio Control Club - AMA Intro Pilot
    www.wichitaradiocontrolclub.org AMA 47317

  21. #21

    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    , QC, CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Gallery
    My Gallery
    Models
    My Models
    Ratings
    My Feedback

    RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

    Well guys, thanks for all the replies.
    I'm a member of a few forums for my motorcycles and I rarely get so much feedback!

    I found a guy who was old enough to know how a good old FM radio works and we found out my receiver was the problem. He used one of his, with my crystal and everything worked out.
    Thing is, this plane has been sitting for years, so although the engine started up just fine, once in the air it kept stalling and we had to land it in "glider" mode.

    We've thorn the engine appart to clean everything up and it should be flying good this weekend!

    Thanks again for all the info!

    Felix, from Quebec, Canada.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:21 PM.

SEO by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.