Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

Old 11-27-2012, 02:09 PM
2wheelfiddler

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

Hi,
I'm new to RC planes but my equipment isn't!
Back when I was a kid, I built a Hangar 9 Easyfly 40 trainer plane with my dad, but I never got to fly it.

After letting the plane sit in my father's workshop for roughly 10 years, I've decided to learn how to use it, because I finally found someone who can show me how to fly it.

My problem is: Although the batteries are good in both the remote and the receiver, when I move the sticks, the servos don't move.

I've tried some troubleshooting of my own and here's what I can say:
- The batteries in the remote are good, they stay over 10V for more than an hour and the low battery warning comes on at 8.5V
- The receiver battery, a 4.8V unit, seems to be good too. When I hook it up to the receiver, the 4 servos on the plane twitch, which tells me there should be enough power to respond to commands from the remote.

I haven't tried the engine yet because the receiver doesn't respond, obviously, but I also need to get a new 12V battery to run the starter motor and the glowplug warmer.

Any idea why the receiver won't respond to the remote? I checked and they both have the same frequency crystal. 72.910 if I remember correctly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Félix.
Old 11-27-2012, 02:20 PM
AMA 74894
My Feedback: (1)

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: Futaba 6xa troubleshooting

it's absolutely possible the airborne battery has enough juice to make the servo's jiggle, but not enough to fully power up the receiver and keep it powered.... I'd suggest fully charging both batteries for at least 8 hours and giving it another whirl
Old 11-27-2012, 02:50 PM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

Check the modulation. Here is a link to the manual: