Notices
Glow Engines Discuss RC glow engines

Welcome to Club SAITO !

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2013, 02:54 PM
FNQFLYER

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Welcome to Club SAITO !

Hobbsy, I have a lot of reviews (in book form) from the old RCM mag and I am picking up on all that sort of data.  My old OS and Saito books talk about on one hand the benefits of castor verses "the new oils" and as time progresses the same author has a complete reversal of opinion for various means such as you suggested.  The Saito cylinder is as near a copy of the standard P&W cylinder design (1340 and 1830 in particular) as you could get.  When I was involved in rebuilds of those as an apprentice I learnt a bit about oils and run in procedures and extending life etc.  I have run the gamit of using new thin oils so salvaging oil from dumped engines to keep going.  The one thing I have learnt is that if you listen really carefully the engine will tell you what is happening and you ignore the signs at your peril.
And when it comes to fuel, oil, glo plugs and props you will get one more opinion than there are people in the room, and usually only one is really rigjht and that is me (sic) (said tongue in cheek) .  But all this conversation makes for interesting reading doesn't it
Old 05-16-2013, 03:01 PM
Hobbsy
My Feedback: (102)

Received 25 Likes on 25 Posts

It does indeed, I learned a lot about oil working for Valvoline oil in the 60s and then from Kevin Cameron of Cycle World fame and various articles in Hot Rod and Motor Trend, Cycle Guide, Rider, etc. There is an old saying here concerning something that can't get out of its own way, that applies to thick il unless its in an environment like your big radials, lots of heat and lots of clearance.
Old 05-16-2013, 03:43 PM
FNQFLYER