RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

KMP Stuka-build details

Reply
Old 01-25-2011, 03:27 PM
  #851
canadian8apilot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: oxdrift, ON, CANADA
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Just having a look at the stuka, and noticed there are only 2 servo hatches in the wing for the aleron servo's and none for the flap servo (as shown in the instructions) and none of the holes for the alerons and flaps line up with the hinge points. Also there are no places cut for the inboard flap hinges.
Is this a common issue, or am I just lucky?

Bill
canadian8apilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:07 PM
  #852
Andrew_S
 
Andrew_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gaston, SC
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

the flap servos are covered by the coverig, u should be able to see where they go. Use an axcto knife. u have to drill for the hinges.the hles that are there were factory paint holes...
Andrew_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:27 PM
  #853
canadian8apilot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: oxdrift, ON, CANADA
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

thanks Andrew, but not seeing any holes for the flap servo`s...must have forgot to cut them for me

I drilled the alerons and flaps, but there are no slots for the hinges in the center section...and I'm just getting started...

Bill
canadian8apilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 07:40 PM
  #854
Andrew_S
 
Andrew_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gaston, SC
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

they should be under the covering. U should be able to feel them under there. u have to cut the slots for the hinges too.
Andrew_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 09:31 PM
  #855
AIRPLANENUTS
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,056
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Kwik, the siren is terrific! Very audible. What is your voltage source?

Rick
AIRPLANENUTS is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 03:05 AM
  #856
kwik
 
kwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: kongsberg, NORWAY
Posts: 1,328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Hello Rick. Yes the siren works very well.

I am using a 3S Lipo at the moment. After the last flight I forgot to turn it off. The battery switch, that is. After a week it was discharget trough the LED in the switch, and was destroyed. As you know, a LiPo cell is destroyed if you allow it to go below 2.5Volts. This happened to me.

So I will use two A123 batteries in the future. That will give me 6.6 x 2 Volts.
kwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 03:12 AM
  #857
Andrew_S
 
Andrew_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gaston, SC
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Bill, did u find the flap hatches? mine are to the inboard left side of the crosses on the bottom of the wing... Kwik that siren does sound good.....
Andrew_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 03:19 PM
  #858
Black Drape
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 307
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Hey Guys

I just got this model from Thomas. None of the hinge holes are drilled in my ailerons or flaps. How are you drilling the holes without coming through the surface of the parts?
Is anyone still using the aerovate engines, and how are they holding up?

Thanks
Ron
Black Drape is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 03:28 PM
  #859
canadian8apilot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: oxdrift, ON, CANADA
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Found the flap servo bays.

I was just out in the garage machining a set of stand-off's for the Aerovate 32 I plan to hang on the front of the Stuka, need to make a shorter set, 1 7/8" long.

Glad I have a lathe in the garage, handy for that kind of thing.


Bill
canadian8apilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 12:48 PM
  #860
maourit
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: rabatmorocco, MOROCCO
Posts: 9
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Hello,
With aweightof7.6kgexcludingfuel on my Stuka B,the enginepurchased(saito 115)would be sufficient?If no, is it absolutely necessary to get an other one like Saito 150 or 180?Ithink it'slimitsbutrequestsyouradvice.
Thank you

maourit is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 08:03 AM
  #861
Firepower R/C
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Good work on the Siren, Kwik... I have an idea about that Wolo siren. I would like to use an ESC (might have to install a different motor) in conjunction with the rate control feature of my Hitec Aurora TX to control the spooling up & down of the siren. I am hoping that I can reverse the channel controlling the siren (ESC) and mix it to the throttle stick, while using a switch to arm the mix. Hopefully, that will evenly spool up the siren as I throttle down & roll over into the dive to deploy the bomb, and then back down as I add in throttle after the pullout. It just might make that siren sound a little better. Any thoughts? I have already started massing the parts for this
Firepower R/C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 10:05 AM
  #862
kwik
 
kwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: kongsberg, NORWAY
Posts: 1,328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Firepower;
Letting an ESC run the motor should work? Cannot see any reason why not.

Next, whether the Aurora TX mix idea will work, I really dont know. It sounds like you want a reversal of throttle input?

Minimum throttle gives maximum siren speed, and opposite? Cannot see why it shouldnt work, either.

So, go ahead, experiment! That is the fun part, if you ask me!

By the way, the ramp up-down....I wonder.....it could be that a big juicy capacitor on , say, 4700 microfarad in parallell with the
motor would work too.....??

Maourit :
I friend of mine used a Saito 180. It was a perfect fit. Cannot answer for the other engines. But the Saito 180 drinks fuel so fast you
wouldnt believe it. So if you consider buying a Saito 180, I think I would consider a Saito FG 30 too. Its a petrol engine, and can
run forever on a tank.
kwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2011, 01:49 PM
  #863
Firepower R/C
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 562
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

I second the fuel-drinking capabilities of the Saito 1.80... nice, nice engine, but you will be buying fuel for it by the case
Firepower R/C is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 03:58 PM
  #864
canadian8apilot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: oxdrift, ON, CANADA
Posts: 36
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

well I got sick of waiting for a muffler, so I built one from brass, copper and steel all silver soldered together and it fits inside the cowl.

Any thoughts or recomendations as to what prop to use on a 32cc gasser?

Bill
canadian8apilot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 09:03 PM
  #865
Andrew_S
 
Andrew_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Gaston, SC
Posts: 576
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

some where in the 20-20 pitvh range...which engine? lets see some pics....
Andrew_S is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 03:55 AM
  #866
irocbsa
 
irocbsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
Posts: 1,184
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

I'm swinging an 16 X 10 three blade on my DLE30 (I would go bigger but three blade props start getting really expensive above 16"). Are you using a two blade?
irocbsa is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 03:48 PM
  #867
kahloq
 
kahloq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 4,295
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

I had a saito 150 in mine spinning a 15x8 3 blade prop and had way more then enough power to fly.
kahloq is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 12:04 AM
  #868
maneba
 
maneba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milano, ITALY
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Hi, this is my Stuka.
I've got the B model to use a dle 30 engine.
This kit are not very ARTF, there is a lot to work to finish it.





maneba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 01:12 AM
  #869
Prekin
 
Prekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brno, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 1,370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Hi,
I am building ESM Stuka D, I have engine DLE 30 and I try to do cockpit myself. I´ve just done instrument panel and now I´m doing rear guns MG 81Z. Because the tail wheel was bad I did new one and also new main gear with springs.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Vt57692.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	94.6 KB
ID:	1720063   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av69449.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	1720064   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd82474.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	89.5 KB
ID:	1720065   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oh13848.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	86.3 KB
ID:	1720066   Click image for larger version

Name:	Am73321.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	58.8 KB
ID:	1720067  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Lc48690.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	1720068   Click image for larger version

Name:	Np18908.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	1720069   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv75357.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	1720070  
Prekin is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 01:26 AM
  #870
Prekin
 
Prekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brno, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 1,370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Hi Maneba,

It looks nice, but I am little bit afraid of the strength the front part, because when you did the holes behind the engine, you maybe disturb the structure. This fibreglass is not very strong and vibrations behind the engine are very big. Do you have some silent blocks (anti shock system) on the engine base?
Prekin is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 02:18 AM
  #871
Prekin
 
Prekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brno, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 1,370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Here are my exhausts. I made it from epoxy.
Does any know if it is necessary to add any lead, when I use DLE 30?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Qo40397.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	1720082  
Prekin is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:46 PM
  #872
Sharpeye22
 
Sharpeye22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Kirbyville, TX
Posts: 328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Prekin,

Could you post a pic of the other side of your engine. I would like see how you did your throttleservo setup.
Sharpeye22 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 01:12 AM
  #873
kwik
 
kwik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: kongsberg, NORWAY
Posts: 1,328
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

I had to enforce the whole area in front of the cockpit by laying up a layer of fiberglass at the inside.

Used finishing resing. It sticks very well to the fuse's inside.

Had extra lot close to the firewall. Soaked the firewall area real good.

Before that, with a G-28 the whole front moved around at least one cm amplitude on idle.

It looked like the pilot had Parkinson, or something.

The 30 cc line of planes from ESM is designed for 4-stroke glow engines, me thinks. Not 2 stroke gassers.

The 50cc Corsair is stiff enough up front from the factory. Dont forget locktite on ALL screws and bolts.

Espesially on servos with metal gears. And ditch all plastic ARF stuff regarding horns and clevis'es.
kwik is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 02:46 AM
  #874
Prekin
 
Prekin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brno, CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 1,370
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details

Here is the other side of my engine. I added some picture of the origin engine base. I cut it and made new one which I put together with fuselage by layer of the fibreglass. Inside the fuselage behind the engine will be the ignition.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Wu60779.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	86.4 KB
ID:	1720628   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ni24881.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	1720629   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mr42024.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	54.6 KB
ID:	1720630   Click image for larger version

Name:	Cw64532.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	1720631  
Prekin is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:52 PM
  #875
maneba
 
maneba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Milano, ITALY
Posts: 82
Gallery
My Gallery
Models
My Models
Ratings
My Feedback
Default RE: KMP Stuka-build details


Quote:
ORIGINAL: Prekin

Hi Maneba,

It looks nice, but I am little bit afraid of the strength the front part, because when you did the holes behind the engine, you maybe disturb the structure. This fibreglass is not very strong and vibrations behind the engine are very big. Do you have some silent blocks (anti shock system) on the engine base?
Hi Prekin. I've added a lot of carbon fiber and carbon sticks behind the new firewall. No silent block for me. The dle30 is very long and i've no space to move it more back. I hope to have no problems with vibrations, otherwise i'll install a 1.80 Asp 4T engine. I've just ordered a new cowl and a new canopy. The original canopy got damaged during trimming. It's to brittle...
maneba is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:19 PM.