Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

U Can Do 3D

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U Can Do 3D

Old 08-12-2002, 10:49 AM
  #1  
prophecypilot
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kenly, NC
Posts: 115
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Was wondering if anyone is flying one of these yet and is it any good?
Old 08-12-2002, 10:55 AM
  #2  
John Wells
My Feedback: (10)
 
John Wells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 858
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

I think they are still in the oven. I'm waiting for one myself. They look very interesting!

JW
Old 08-12-2002, 12:58 PM
  #3  
OnTheEdge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Drums, PA
Posts: 1,185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Looks like a neat plane for the money. Can't wait to see one and also hear how close the finish weight comes in compared to the claimed weight.
Old 08-12-2002, 01:44 PM
  #4  
GarySS
My Feedback: (13)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Center of the Flyover States,
Posts: 2,155
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Regarding the claimed weight verses the actual weight:
Depends upon the engine, but check the variance between actual and advertised on existing Great Planes Products.
Old 08-12-2002, 11:47 PM
  #5  
timmymac
Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Depew, NY
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

I saw the latest advertisement in MAN and loos like a 1 piece wing. It also looks like the wing is permenantly mounted to the fuse . Does any one know if this is the case ?
Tim
Old 08-12-2002, 11:57 PM
  #6  
Jaco
Senior Member
 
Jaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Loves Park, IL
Posts: 177
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

I E-mailed G Planes with some questions and asked if it is a bolt on wing and they said YES, it is a one piece, bolt on wing and can be removed for transportation. I've got one on order and G planes is saying they will have them in stock on Aug. 19th. We'll see!
Old 08-12-2002, 11:59 PM
  #7  
timmymac
Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Depew, NY
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

thanks
Old 08-13-2002, 02:09 AM
  #8  
OnTheEdge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Drums, PA
Posts: 1,185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wing mounting

Tim, I thought the same thing at first. If you go to Great Planes web site and double click on the photo of the unassembled parts (to enlarge photo) you can barely see small seams where the bottom of the fuse comes apart. This looks like a great plane but I' still leaning to the Extase as it looks like it comes in a 1 1/2 lighter for $30 more.

http://www.greatplanes.com/airplanes/gpma1270.html
Old 08-13-2002, 08:40 AM
  #9  
Tman
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 237
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Am wondering how much lead you might have to put in the nose to keep it in CG. AT 68 inches long and with three servos in the tail ( 2 elevator, 1 rudder) this plane could weigh in well over the advertised weight, even with a heavy engine.
Great looking plane, I think it will be a winner for GP.
Old 08-13-2002, 12:13 PM
  #10  
Furyflyer2
My Feedback: (117)
 
Furyflyer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: middlesex, NJ
Posts: 2,681
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

I'm gonna get one and i'm going to put a YS 91 in it.
Old 08-13-2002, 04:54 PM
  #11  
FilipM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cupertino, CA,
Posts: 194
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Originally posted by Tman
Am wondering how much lead you might have to put in the nose to keep it in CG.
A Saito 180 brand noseweight?
Old 08-13-2002, 05:11 PM
  #12  
Tman
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 237
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Great idea!!!!
Old 08-13-2002, 05:15 PM
  #13  
bigbri
My Feedback: (287)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: dracut, MA
Posts: 911
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

I have one on back order and a surpass 91 NIB waiting. Hope it flies as good as it looks
B-
Old 08-13-2002, 06:30 PM
  #14  
RickC2009
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Patchogue, NY
Posts: 475
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default u can

Anyone seen the bottom?
Old 08-13-2002, 09:00 PM
  #15  
YNOT
Senior Member
 
YNOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 2,065
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U CAN DO

The bottom is checker boards (blue and white). I have one on order too. Check the LHS. Great Planes has some great pictures of it in a monthly dealer flyer.

I'm going to try a OS 91FX first. See what it does.

I don't understand the nose weight question. I'm guessing, however if you fly that plane nose heavy or even neutral to the recommended CG it may take away from some of the 3D potential.
Old 08-13-2002, 11:23 PM
  #16  
Tman
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 237
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Tony, it wasn't a nose weight question. I was thinking that with a very long fuselage (68 inches) and 3 servos in the tail, the plane may be tailheavy therefore requiring additional weight up in the nose. However, an larger heavier engine and possible room to place the battery up front might help with any potential tail heavy situation.
Old 08-14-2002, 05:21 PM
  #17  
Bamaham
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Somerville, AL
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U-Can-3D Price?

What's the asking price for one of these, and what is the Extase?
Old 08-14-2002, 06:56 PM
  #18  
OnTheEdge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Drums, PA
Posts: 1,185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Street Price

$190 in Tower's ad in Moder Airplane News (Oct 02 issue).

Bama, The Extase is a 60 size light weight ARF distributed by RC Plane Power. See below link which has other links to a great review of the kit. The plane finished aff at 6.5 pounds with a YS 91. The U-Can-Do-3D will be closer to 8 pounds with the same engine. The Extase is actually $40 more than the U-Can-Do-3D (I'm having a hard time with that name.....while quite descriptive, it kinda sounds stupid for a plane).




http://www.rcuniverse.com/showthread...900&forumid=31


..........Markk
Old 08-14-2002, 09:37 PM
  #19  
bigbri
My Feedback: (287)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: dracut, MA
Posts: 911
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Dont forget order 199 dollars worth of stuff and tower has a 20 dollar off. I added a couple of props and now the plane is 170 dollars
B-
Old 08-15-2002, 02:05 AM
  #20  
YNOT
Senior Member
 
YNOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 2,065
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default You Can Dew Three Dee

I agree, Stupid name.
Old 08-15-2002, 02:22 AM
  #21  
OnTheEdge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Drums, PA
Posts: 1,185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Maybe they can call their next plane
U-Can-Also-Dew-Giant-Scale-Warbirds-2!!

Not sure what the marketing team was thinking when they came up with that one.
Old 08-15-2002, 02:28 AM
  #22  
bigbri
My Feedback: (287)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: dracut, MA
Posts: 911
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

I once dated a girl with a stupid name....She ROCKED !!!!! I have a 3D on back order...I hope it rocks to
Brian
Old 08-16-2002, 11:04 PM
  #23  
Flatspin-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: new hudson, MI
Posts: 289
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default UCD 3D

I received a email from Tower today...said my UCD 3D had been shipped via Fed EX. Now I need a motor ....which one...Saito 100 or YS91fz? Both about same price ...can you prop start the YS91? Can you put a pump on the Saito so you can put the tank on the CG? I know the YS is probably a little stronger but do I want the hassel of a presureized tank and what if something goes whacked with the supercharger? Cant fix that myself like I could the Saito. Any suggestions? Thanks

Ron
Old 08-16-2002, 11:29 PM
  #24  
YNOT
Senior Member
 
YNOT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 2,065
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can

I'm going to try a 91FX with a nelson muffler first.

Between the strokers, the YS. You can hand prop it, if you flip it backwards.

The pressured tank, YEA!!! If the tank can be put on the CG (I hope) the YS will really show its worth with the pump.

If yer gonna U-Can-Do-It, Do-It right. YS

Still a stupid name.
Old 08-17-2002, 02:11 AM
  #25  
Furyflyer2
My Feedback: (117)
 
Furyflyer2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: middlesex, NJ
Posts: 2,681
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default U Can Do 3D

Yep , my YS 91AC will be up front..

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.