Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

GP Waco?

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

GP Waco?

Old 08-23-2012, 02:03 AM
  #1051  
Lifer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,331
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

DLE 30 swings a 20x6 prop well, and gives realistic performance and looks good, too.
Old 08-25-2012, 02:40 PM
  #1052  
Mpizpilot
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wading River, NY
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

All finished up. Pretty straight forward, but my god, what a huge PITA the cowl mounting is!
Old 08-26-2012, 05:12 PM
  #1053  
Mpizpilot
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wading River, NY
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Maidened today. What a great flying airplane! Love it, a real floater and looks the part in the air. Though I have to say, the 30 is alot of power. Unlimited vertical and the engine isn't even close to being broken in yet. I'm all for overpowering aerobatic aircraft but I think in this case the 30 is overkill. On my third flight, the fuel line was rubbing the cylinderhead (couldn't see it) and caused an engine out in a bad spot. Landed a little long and went off the end of the runway, from the racket it made as it flipped over in the high grass I though for sure it was done. When I got to it, was pleased to find only a single little crack in the left wheel pant and some dirt on the wingtip.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Pn36873.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	123.0 KB
ID:	1795557   Click image for larger version

Name:	Hc93925.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	135.2 KB
ID:	1795558  
Old 08-26-2012, 05:13 PM
  #1054  
Mpizpilot
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wading River, NY
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

One more
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Db86338.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	190.7 KB
ID:	1795565  
Old 09-01-2012, 05:42 PM
  #1055  
Mpizpilot
My Feedback: (45)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Wading River, NY
Posts: 1,055
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I guess I'm late to the party with this plane, because I'm quite surprised there isn't more activity in this thread. The more I get to fly this plane,it is quickly becoming my favorite.
Old 10-20-2012, 08:33 AM
  #1056  
Chillybee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I have a Saito 1.25 in mine and plan on flying it this weekend. After installing a SlimLine muffler, the cg right at 5 1/4" like the instructions say so I'm hoping for the best. The plane almost looks too good to fly!
Old 10-21-2012, 01:45 AM
  #1057  
erans
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth WA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 862
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: GP Waco?

It is a very easy aeroplane to fly, you will have great time flying it set up at centre of CGrange.
The SAITO 1.25 should be perfect for it.

Eran
Old 10-21-2012, 07:55 PM
  #1058  
Chillybee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I wanted to fly it today but the wind was too high. But at least the motor is running great along with a perfect idle. Judging by how quickly it picked up speed rolling across my lawn, it has plenty of power to take of and fly. Looks like maybe I can try again later on during the week...can't wait!
Old 10-21-2012, 08:31 PM
  #1059  
flyntruk
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: santa rosa, CA
Posts: 150
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Chilly... What size prop you turning on the 1.25 ?
Old 10-22-2012, 07:28 AM
  #1060  
Chillybee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Flyntruk,

I'm using a wooden RCGP 16x6 prop and it seems to pull great along with still give an idle where the plane won't move. I actually bought the motor used off of eBay for $190 last year and it's well broken in.

Chillybee
Old 10-22-2012, 02:30 PM
  #1061  
erans
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth WA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 862
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: GP Waco?

Iwas using APC 15x8 on the Saito FG20 (which is identical to the 1.25) and it performed well.
Old 10-23-2012, 05:04 AM
  #1062  
Chillybee
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

That FG must sound great! How do you like it? I was thinking about getting one.
Old 10-23-2012, 05:45 AM
  #1063  
erans
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth WA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 862
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: GP Waco?

The sound is great.
My main issue with this engine is the 20:1 petrol mix, which is very different to any other petrol engine.
This require to cart another fuel container to the field if you have multiple petrol engines powered aeroplanes in your fleet.
It also spits a lot of the oil on the aeroplane, which is what you try to avoid by using petrol powered aeroplanes (compared to glow).

I had many issues with the engine after it was involved in a crash early on, so it is hard for me to give unbiased opinion.
When it works, it is fantastic little engine.

Eran
Old 10-27-2012, 11:48 AM
  #1064  
deadstick79
 
deadstick79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Espanola, NM
Posts: 273
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Hey All,
Just joined after reading EVERY post here
I have the Dynam Waco 50" and it's running on a 5S 4000mah batt.
She's a real joy to fly and the favorite of my stable of 6 planes!
I will be getting the GP model by Xmas!
I flew large planes back in the early 80s' and used the old Quadra 40... most excellent engine for its time
Looking forward to this project and am planning to use the Dle 20
buen cielo,
Dan
Old 10-28-2012, 02:32 PM
  #1065  
WindGap
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Irmo, SC
Posts: 228
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

After a year flying this Waco, my few complaints include: short wheelbase so it doesn't taxi well, landing gear plastic covers are crappy and crackly, and pilots bail in mid flight. lost two pilots already.

I think the Dole 20 has plenty power to do Aerobatic flying. A four stroke fg-20 or fg30 would be preferable cause the sound is intoxicating.
Old 10-29-2012, 03:29 AM
  #1066  
erans
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth WA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 862
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: GP Waco?

Ihave 50 flights on my WACO, and on my last flight yesterday one of the brackets holding the "N" strut onto the bottom wing snapped...
I admit that I do take it through some harsh "non scale" manoeuvres, but this should not happen...
It currently equipped with the MVVS 30cc, and power is almost unlimited.

WindGap - Iam surprised on your taxi comment, I actually really like the ground handling, with the exception of acceleration for take off, where the torque of the 18x8 really make tracking straight difficult.
As to the sound, Iam with you on the comment that you cannot beat the FG-20 for this aeroplane. When I had it in, Iused to fly it low pass pulling away in front of me just so I can listen to it.
Performance was very scale with it.

Eran
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30126.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	1815822  
Old 10-29-2012, 08:11 AM
  #1067  
aframe2
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Walton, KY
Posts: 197
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Erans, I've flown my Waco all season long and all of my brackets broke, one after the other. I went
to my LHS, becasuse Great Planes told me they couldn't sell me a replacement pack of brackets. The
LHS found some that I think went to another bi-plane, the name escapes me now, but the brackets worked
great, they were a little heavier, and some you had to bend to the right angle, but they haven't broke.
I think the name of that bi-plane goes something like pe 6 Hawk, some kind of hawk. You see it in
all the books, it is yellow and black and has some white stripes on it. Good luck, Aframe2
Old 10-29-2012, 11:06 AM
  #1068  
flyntruk
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: santa rosa, CA
Posts: 150
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Windgap // I changed my tail wheel first thing .. I went to Dubro 1 inch tail wheel .. Really helped ..
Old 10-29-2012, 08:16 PM
  #1069  
erans
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth WA, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 862
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: GP Waco?

Thank you for the info aframe2.
Ihave access to bracket laser cutting facility and Iwill get some made from thicker metal.
Old 11-04-2012, 10:03 AM
  #1070  
patniven
My Feedback: (35)
 
patniven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL
Posts: 222
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: GP Waco?

Tower Hobbies just changed the price of this ARF to $319.22 (?) Is that a typo?
I bought one...
Old 11-04-2012, 01:38 PM
  #1071  
shford
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Knox, IN
Posts: 162
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Not a typo, just ordered it. Couldn't believe price. Being super club member I got another $50 off! Sweet!
Old 11-04-2012, 01:40 PM
  #1072  
handyman 220
My Feedback: (54)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Hartford, CT
Posts: 445
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

They did it with the GS P-40 about 1 month ago also. I guess making a little profit is better than not selling any at a greater profit margin.
Old 11-04-2012, 03:36 PM
  #1073  
nitro wing
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: surrey, BC, CANADA
Posts: 3,775
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

sheit, thats a good deal
Old 11-05-2012, 08:04 AM
  #1074  
kochj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

The price was market down on there 50-60cc yak55m and the pitts as well for 450$...

The issue with China products is the Metal quality... not the fitment...
It is for this reason that many manufactures have to overbuild the metal products to account for this...
Aeroworks had issue with scale gear as well...so it doesn't matter who is making it...

I think that china can do better with Carbon Fiber products....
GP should make the cabane L- brackets out of that.... It wouldn't snap do to being over bent..

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXGDB2&P=7
This may work as a replacement????
These will not break...

One could use copper coated computer board, and solder a support bracket over it, so it will hold it's "L" shape...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82079.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	1817810  
Old 11-05-2012, 08:21 AM
  #1075  
kochj
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Victoria, MN
Posts: 3,933
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

ORIGINAL: Mpizpilot

Been working on mine this, up to the engine install, so far everything is going together real well. I am a bit disappointed in some areas of the covering, it's a bit rough here and there the wing tips especially.

Mine came with a couple of broken stringers on the bottom of the fuse. Tower shipped me a roll of monokote for the repairs I have to make and wouldn't you know, there is a pretty decent variation in the colors. Stinks.
The monokote colors are MIXED, and then sprayed ontop the clear plastic.

From what I have heard... the colors have been like that lately, and even on the Models from factory....
Like any paint job... it can be difficult to match paint colors... Even more so, when you have a company in China
that could be supplimenting all kinds of chemicals to get the cheapest rate... W/o Topflite ever knowing so...
I think this is why Horrizon is keeping it's covering company in Germany...


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.