Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

GP GEE BEE

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

GP GEE BEE

Old 10-28-2009, 07:07 PM
  #726  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Build one out of balsa and cover it with monokote . It'll be lighter than stock and then you won't need as much nose weight
Old 10-28-2009, 08:24 PM
  #727  
bigbird3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Williamstown, VT
Posts: 556
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Justin, send it to me and I will build one for you. Put two 12" sheets of medium to hard balsa and the rudder in a bubble pack and send it to me. Also, put two 12"X12" monocote pieces in with it. I'll supply the post material and glue. I will have it to you in a week of getting it. Put five bucks in with it so I can ship it back to you in a box. It will survive better that way.
Bob Bray
4102 VT. RTE 14 LOT #1
Williamstown VT. 05679
802-433-6602
I promise it will be nicer than the original.
Old 10-30-2009, 01:15 AM
  #728  
alpinelightning
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: peoria, IL
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

give me a couple of days guys I may have found one I'll keep you posted thank you for the offer its a good idea for sure!
Justin
Old 11-03-2009, 10:18 PM
  #729  
alpinelightning
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: peoria, IL
Posts: 5
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

just a update to let you guys know who wanted to help me fix the tail my friend showed up at my doorstep with my tail in better than new condition he did a great job and really surprised me I didn't think he would get it fixed I think he was just trying to worry me since i thought I couldn't find a replacement!
thanks again for the effort though guys I may need you in the future!
Justin
Old 11-04-2009, 12:43 AM
  #730  
bigbird3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Williamstown, VT
Posts: 556
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

No problem buddy, just call, that's all! bird.
Old 11-05-2009, 11:03 PM
  #731  
skyline223
Junior Member
 
skyline223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

What size batteries are you guys running in the GP Gee Bee?
Old 11-06-2009, 07:48 AM
  #732  
rowdog_14
My Feedback: (5)
 
rowdog_14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austell, GA
Posts: 1,168
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

i have a 1100mah and it is more than enough. I usually fly the gee bee tow or three time when I go to the field and it usually does not dop bellow 5.1v on the tester
Old 11-08-2009, 01:18 PM
  #733  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Hi folks here's a vid of my YS120sc powered cmp R2 .I'm using robostruts with rc car oil dampers mounted on the struts . If you look closely you can see them on the landing .Check out the close call on the landing rollout at the end . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKtwUUL0QBk
Old 11-08-2009, 05:53 PM
  #734  
bigbird3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Williamstown, VT
Posts: 556
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Hey Pencon, very nice job buddy. Beautiful area you are in too. It remindes me of here in Vermont. The scenery is breath taking.
One tip if I may, learn to fly with a little down trim. Just a couple of clicks. Fly with it all of the time so you don't have to adjust the trim for landing. If you watch the video, you can see where you are putting down in it to bring it closer to the ground on low passes and landings. With the down trim in it, it will naturally bring itself down. All you have to do is adjust the stick to slow the decent or hold it level. Just as you touch down, let off the stick, it's all in the timing, and the plane will level off and stick to the ground.
Just some advise, not trying to tell you how to fly. You are a great pilot!
Take care buddy. Keep up the good work.
bird.
Old 11-08-2009, 06:05 PM
  #735  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Thanks bigbird , I agree with you on the down trim I had some in ,but knowing I was being filmed I guess I got distracted .The flight after this one I greased it in a couple of times with no bounce at all . At the end of the day I got stupid and too cocky and stalled the plane into a 70 foot wide slough . Lost the cowl but everything else seems ok . Washed out the engine ,reoiled it , cleaned the radio gear with alchohol etc. I did find a replacement cowl on ductedfans.com. so she will be up again in a few weeks time .
Old 11-08-2009, 07:18 PM
  #736  
rowdog_14
My Feedback: (5)
 
rowdog_14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austell, GA
Posts: 1,168
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Nice Video and landing. I actually got a video of mine today with my new camcorder.

[link]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GWSW5RhO5E4[/link]
Old 11-08-2009, 07:32 PM
  #737  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Rowdog nice grease in landing . I had a couple the other day too but typical - the camera was off
Old 11-08-2009, 07:57 PM
  #738  
RACJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

rowdog,great landing,looked like a real short roll out. I'm gonna email ya and hope for some advice on landings and how you got that short rollout,especially on pavement. THANKS,RACJ
Old 11-08-2009, 08:45 PM
  #739  
GaGeeBees
My Feedback: (23)
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE


ORIGINAL: pencon

Hi folks here's a vid of my YS120sc powered cmp R2 .I'm using robostruts with rc car oil dampers mounted on the struts . If you look closely you can see them on the landing .Check out the close call on the landing rollout at the end . http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HKtwUUL0QBk
Great flying! Compliments also to your camera person. The video quality is exceptional. Well done!
Old 11-08-2009, 09:35 PM
  #740  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

thanks Gageebees , yeah he's got a couple of hundred videos on youtube and puts them together really well . he's also got one of my other planes (fw190d9) up on youtube as well http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dwZ5OFGIFk8
Old 11-09-2009, 05:57 AM
  #741  
GaGeeBees
My Feedback: (23)
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Great looking FW190 and another excellent vid. Thanks for the link.
Old 11-11-2009, 11:45 AM
  #742  
Guerra
My Feedback: (48)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rancho Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Do any of you good folks know about a thread where someone (either unbalanced or ambitious) mounted floats on a GP Gee Bee??
Old 11-11-2009, 08:43 PM
  #743  
GaGeeBees
My Feedback: (23)
 
GaGeeBees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 1,413
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

If you do the Gee Bee on floats, please make sure you videotape it
Old 11-11-2009, 08:55 PM
  #744  
rowdog_14
My Feedback: (5)
 
rowdog_14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Austell, GA
Posts: 1,168
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

I have seen one on floats but I can not remember where I saw it at!!!!
Old 11-11-2009, 09:04 PM
  #745  
turboratt
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ontario, CA
Posts: 310
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

check the havasu float fly .when bryon came out with the geebee there was a guy there with one on floats
and it was a hand full on take off from water im thinking over 15 years ago or so
Old 11-12-2009, 12:14 AM
  #746  
Craig-RCU
Senior Member
 
Craig-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: minneapolis, MN
Posts: 645
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE


ORIGINAL: Guerra

Do any of you good folks know about a thread where someone (either unbalanced or ambitious) mounted floats on a GP Gee Bee??
I saved a picture of a GB on floats, but I don't remember where I got it.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Lj22670.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	1312762  
Old 11-17-2009, 01:32 AM
  #747  
mugenkidd
My Feedback: (94)
 
mugenkidd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 1,758
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Here's a close call I had with my GP Gee Bee.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b2k0nUHpJ6c
Old 11-17-2009, 05:57 AM
  #748  
Craig-RCU
Senior Member
 
Craig-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: minneapolis, MN
Posts: 645
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Wow, that is some amazing video! I don't think that I've ever seen an r/c video that was that harrowing, yet not also disastrous. A friend of mine had a take-off experience like that when I was trying to instruct him on how to fly his H9 Corsair. No video of that take-off, though. I told him to "baby the throttle" meaning "move the throttle slowly to avoid engine torque yanking the plane around." He interpreted my "baby the throttle" advice as "don't go above half throttle." He lifted off too quickly and got into a alternating left and right tip stall situation for a few cycles until I suggested that he advance the throttle more to gain some much needed air speed, afterwhich he was able to gain control of the Corsair without damage. I thought he was a goner several times during that take-off just like with your video. Glad that all ended well on both accounts.
Old 11-17-2009, 08:57 AM
  #749  
RACJ
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Morehead City, NC
Posts: 399
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Man,what I want to see would be a video of the next take-off you did In golf if you pull one drive way left,you usually overcompensate and hit next drive way right. Seriously,glad you got lucky and had the presence to hang in there and save her.
Old 11-19-2009, 05:29 PM
  #750  
pencon
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 217
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP GEE BEE

Does anyone here own both the kmp/raidentech/cmp/nitromodels Gee bee 120 arf and the great planes version? I recently lost my cowl after crashing into a slough . Just wondering if the great planes cowl would fit my 120 arf version? or is it a different size outer diameter ?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.