Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Kangke Waco Biplane

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Kangke Waco Biplane

Old 12-22-2012, 05:54 PM
  #651  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

did everyone use 4 aileron servos or just 2, I was planning on using 4, I'm almost done except for the electronics and motor. I used black pin striping along the border of the red and silver, It really made it look nice. Another thing that puzeled me was they said don't remove and covering form the fin or stabilizer when epoxying them. Thats the first arf I'veput together that said that. I wonder why?
Old 12-22-2012, 07:21 PM
  #652  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: rstekeur



I want to replace the aluminum tubes with brass or copper lines so I can solder the small barbs on the ends to keep the fuel lines from coming off, I didn't have any luck trying to solder the aluminum lines. I'm new with gas, but I've read the fuel lines expand with age and can come off the lines. Has anyone tried a 3 blade prop for clearance?

Mate, just flare the ends of these fuel tubes slightly with needlenose pliers or similar. No soldering needed
Old 12-22-2012, 07:29 PM
  #653  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

You cannot solder aluminum, so brass is a must.

For my YS engines, after I bend the tubes to shape, remove it from the stopper so it does not get damaged. I solder two wraps of thin #24 gauge wire about 1/16" back from the edge with very small torch using standard electrical solder and paste flux, NOT the acid flux that comes with silver solder!

A little WD40 helps get the brass tubes though the stopper and after the lines are connected, I wrap the same wire around the fuel line twice then give it a few twists to hold the fuel line on.

Never had one blow off with the YS engines.

A large 100 watt soldering gun would probably work too.

Bill S.
Old 12-23-2012, 07:36 AM
  #654  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: apalsson


ORIGINAL: rstekeur



I want to replace the aluminum tubes with brass or copper lines so I can solder the small barbs on the ends to keep the fuel lines from coming off, I didn't have any luck trying to solder the aluminum lines. I'm new with gas, but I've read the fuel lines expand with age and can come off the lines. Has anyone tried a 3 blade prop for clearance?

Mate, just flare the ends of these fuel tubes slightly with needlenose pliers or similar. No soldering needed
Hey, thats a good idea. Thanks
Old 12-25-2012, 03:24 PM
  #655  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

What has everyone done that has used 8 servos done as far as plugging them into the RX? Is 8 to much for the rx or do you need a power bus for the current draw?
Old 12-25-2012, 07:33 PM
  #656  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: rstekeur

What has everyone done that has used 8 servos done as far as plugging them into the RX? Is 8 to much for the rx or do you need a power bus for the current draw?
Not for this plane. It's not that big and heavy that it justifies power distribution
Old 12-26-2012, 08:13 AM
  #657  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: apalsson


ORIGINAL: rstekeur

What has everyone done that has used 8 servos done as far as plugging them into the RX? Is 8 to much for the rx or do you need a power bus for the current draw?
Not for this plane. It's not that big and heavy that it justifies power distribution
Thanks apalsson, I'm tring to keep it as simple as I can. I've been looking at DLE 35ra's for the motor, and there on backorder everywhere. TowerHobby has a sale and the OS gt33 is close to the price. DO you think the os 33 is enough motor?
Old 12-26-2012, 10:01 AM
  #658  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

I'm extremely happy with the MVVS 40cc in mine. Evolution are the same brand in the US, if you can get those. Another option might be ZDZ 40
Old 12-26-2012, 10:11 AM
  #659  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane



I'ved looked for a zdz40 and haven't been able to find one listed

Old 12-26-2012, 10:36 AM
  #660  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

What about Evolution 35cc or 40cc?
Old 12-27-2012, 07:32 AM
  #661  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

the weight of the ZDZ40 is almost the same as the DLE55, HP is 5.5 for the dle and 4.8 for the zdz. Would a DLE55 be too much?

ZDZ40

Wt - 3.25 Lbs
Disp - 40 CC
Power - 4.8 hp
Prop - 20X8, 20X10
Static thrust - 22 lbs

DLE55
-
5.5 HP at 7,500 RPM
 Weight: Engine, 2.9lbs (1310g)
                  Muffler, 3.5oz (100g)
                  Ignition, 3.9oz (110g)
Old 12-27-2012, 09:09 AM
  #662  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Yes, a 55cc would be an overkill for this plane
From memory, the prototype plane was flown on the ZDZ40 and the manual states it was at the top end of the power range
Old 12-27-2012, 09:32 AM
  #663  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Maybe the best choice is to simply wait till the engine you want gets in stock somewhere?

Bill S.
Old 12-28-2012, 12:07 PM
  #664  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: Twin_Flyer

Maybe the best choice is to simply wait till the engine you want gets in stock somewhere?

Bill S.
That would be the best choice Bill, except I have some free time coming up in the next 2-3 weeks and It looks doubtfull on getting a dle30 or 35 in that time frame, and the choices in the 30-40cc size seem pretty limited. I have an OS gt33 on the way. I hope to get out flying in time. I'm going single battery with a battery eliminator filter from Troybuild so I hope to keep the weight down.
Old 12-28-2012, 12:17 PM
  #665  
railfly
Junior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 14
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

you will have to cut a hole in the firewall so the carburator can fit behind the firewall so you have the proper clearance for the prop and cowl. I dont think you will for the dle 35. troy models handles the zdz engines and parts . A picture somewhere on this forum shows a dle 30 mounted and they did not cut into the firewall The dle35 is a rear exhaust but I done think it is any different as far as spacing the muffler fits under the carb and the standoff holes are wider for the muffler to clear. The ignition is rated for 7.5 volts which is nice can run a lifepo or lithium ion or run the ignition cutoff.
Old 01-01-2013, 03:29 PM
  #666  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Can anyone tell me how to set the incedence without a meter. I want to set it to +1 degree to make it easier to fly to start with.
Old 01-02-2013, 04:49 AM
  #667  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Buy one!

Its worth it. I have several and use them all when setting up a plane before final gluing.

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXET66&P=7


Bill S.
Old 01-02-2013, 06:18 AM
  #668  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Thanks Bill, I guess I can use a level to get the top wing level with the bottom and then raise the front a 1/4"
Old 01-02-2013, 06:31 AM
  #669  
JL1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (93)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mason, MI
Posts: 874
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

Set it on a level surface and measure the difference, from the surface, between the leading and trailing edges
Old 01-02-2013, 06:52 AM
  #670  
Twin_Flyer
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Westhampton Beach, NY
Posts: 859
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

But does 1/4" equal 1 degree?

I have used levels in the past as well just to check that things were at zero but I don't think there much good for any more then that.

belong to a club? if so, someone must have one you can borrow.

Harbor Freight also has a nice digital gauge one that can be used with RC with a little thought.

Bill S.
Old 01-02-2013, 07:42 AM
  #671  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: Twin_Flyer

But does 1/4" equal 1 degree?
That’s a good question, I slept through as much of geometry as I could. I know there must be a formula here somewhere. I remember many moons ago we used protractor gauges with rockets to get the altitude. I’ll ask at the field next time and see if anyone has a incedense gauge. I’m still waiting on the motor and servos to arrive from tower. Once I get that in hopefully I can balance it with the rx, regulator and battery placement.
Old 01-25-2013, 08:56 AM
  #672  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

All done with the Waco except for setting the Incidense which I'll do tonight so I might fly it sunday. I ended up with a OS gt33 for a motor. Didn't have to cut the firewall and it fit nice. I had to mount the cowl as far forward as I could. Where's a good place to start as far as the incidense. I want it to fly easy to start. Should I set it at 0 or +1
Old 01-25-2013, 05:57 PM
  #673  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

What do you use for the datum line in setting the incedence, level the horizontal stab?
Old 01-25-2013, 10:30 PM
  #674  
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)
 
apalsson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Coffs Harbour NSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 2,306
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane


ORIGINAL: rstekeur

What do you use for the datum line in setting the incedence, level the horizontal stab?
Use the bottom wing and set the top wing 0 - +1.5 degree relative to the bottom wing for gentle flight. Be aware though the plane tends to balloon a bit if you set it full 1.5 deg positive.
I have mine set at 0 degrees and it is quite good
Old 01-29-2013, 08:05 AM
  #675  
rstekeur
Member
 
rstekeur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ft myers, FL
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Kangke Waco Biplane

It's all ready to go, if I can get a chance to tune the engine it might go flying sunday.


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.