Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Motor trouble

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Motor trouble

Old 03-05-2021, 01:56 PM
Beaststyle536

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Motor trouble

Well, i am a beginner RC builder, but not at all stranger to building in general. I have a FLYSKY I6X transmitter and Ia6b receiver along with a 16.8 volt max esc controlling a EMAX Mt 1806 460g (just over a pound) thrust motor. Powered by a 3s battery, this all sits inside my foamboard P47 "model". its close but not exact. it sits at around 283g with everything inside. What im here about, however, is the motor. Would this 460g motor be enough to sustain flight? Please ask for any other needed details
Old 03-08-2021, 10:32 AM
jester_s1

Received 30 Likes on 27 Posts

That motor can handle about 125 watts, so yes, it's more than powerful enough for that plane. It may be too heavy though.
The following users liked this post:
Beaststyle536 (03-10-2021)
Old 03-09-2021, 04:05 PM
Beaststyle536

So i would need to lighten up the plane?
Old 03-10-2021, 03:46 AM
GiantAntCowboy

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

As said the motor/thrust will be more than enough for this plane, the most important thing is to make sure the COG is correct. Jester was implying that the plane might be quite nose heavy with this large motor.

You can get it all setup to fly, and then just hand toss it into some some tall grass, or similar to see how it glides. If it shoot upward its probably tail heavy, if it quickly nose dives it probably nose heavy. Of course this assumes all control surfaces are setup properly.

Let us know your results.
Old 03-10-2021, 08:08 AM
Retiredat38
Banned

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

OK, I'll ask what everyone is dancing around. You do know the model needs to be balanced in the fore / aft direction? And do you know where it needs to balance? i.e. the CG (or CoG).