Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First balsa kit recommendations

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First balsa kit recommendations

Old 11-05-2022, 06:26 PM
Steelman93

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default First balsa kit recommendations

So I have been reading the “which should be my first balsa build threads” and have found them to be full of great info, but a bit confusing and a little out of date in that several of the kits recommended that caught my interest are no longer available. I wanted to ask for recommendations based on my situation.

I am new to RC, but very much enjoying it and ready to take the step into actually building. My first plane was a foam cub, and my second an ARF stick. Both electric.

Can someone make a few suggestions as to a decent starting kit? Because I have a high wing trainer, and a Stick I would be more interested in something a bit different than either of those. The location I fly at in southeast Texas is quite windy so smaller airplanes tend to not do as well. If I am on an electric I am more interested in the 1 meter and up wingspan planes.

As far as experience building planes…I have none other than the ARF. However, I did put together quite a few model rockets in my day, I have built several pieces of heirloom quality furniture and when I was in college I designed and built a 2 foot long balsa truss bridge and balsa lifting hook for my strength of materials class. I may not have modeling experience, but I am reasonably handy and have worked with balsa. Additionally, I am in a great club with a lot of experienced hands willing to give advice.

I have always loved biplanes and have seen the Hog Bipe recommended but they are not available from Sig. If anyone could recommend a few other kits for me to try I would greatly appreciate it. I won a Ziroli Stuka short kit at a raffle so my goal is to progress enough to be able to build that. I know starting there is not a good idea.