Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Which One?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Which One?

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2004, 02:46 AM
tito_rianto

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Which One?

I'm new to RC Airplane, and wanted to buy one. I've done several research but still not knowing is the best.
I've come to three choices:
1. Hobbico SuperStar Select MKII RTF - 40
2. Thunder Tiger Trainer 40 MkII
3. Megatech Nitro Airstrike - 46

Please advice which one is the best for beginner, or there are any good planes should i count on.
Thanks
Old 03-23-2004, 04:05 AM
Zandona

Default RE: Which One?

I don't know man but as far as I know sometimes it's a good idea to start with electric trainers, they are cheaper and easier to fix although they don't perform very well on windy conditions(+5mph).
Old 03-23-2004, 04:23 AM
randy41

Most all trainers are good now days. But you ask for the best and in my opinion
that would be the sig LT-40. You will get a wide range of opinions on which is
the best.
Old 03-23-2004, 04:51 AM
Jumpnjoe

I can only speak for the Hobbico NexSTAR (RTF). I would definitely recommend it. It comes with a simulator for the exact plane, and you use your own transmitter that comes with the plane to learn on. Go to the local hobby shop and find out where the local flying field is and go talk to people. Find out for yourself what you would like to learn on.
Old 03-23-2004, 08:48 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Also take a look at the Alpha 40
Old 03-23-2004, 09:48 AM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

As has been mentioned, pretty much any trainer today is pretty good, but of the three you've mentioned I'd say go with the Hobbico Superstar. The Megatech Nitro has a LOT of bad reviews. Hard to put together, parts that don't fit, that sort of thing, and there was a recent post about the Thunder Tiger, but ONLY one.