Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Throttle Position Question

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Throttle Position Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2005, 06:15 PM
Kenny4842

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Throttle Position Question

Hello all, this is my first post. I am a newbie to the RC world but I have always wanted to get into RC planes. I bought a Cessna 182 off of ebay and have almost got it finished. By the way anybody heard of the brand HobbyFan? I am not impressed with the Kit at all, but at least it looks nice when finished.
Anyway on to my first qeustion. When I am setting up the throttle on the transmitter how should I make it when the stick is pulled all the way down. Should the engine idle? Or should I be able to completly close the throttle and cut the engine off. What I did was set the trim all the way to the top and then left 1/5th of the carb open. This way when I pull the stick all the way down the engine will idle, but when I pull the trim all the way down it will completly close the carb and therfore shut the engine off. I dont know if this is how it should be or not but I thought it was a good idea. How should/what do most people do?
Old 11-11-2005, 06:31 PM
khodges
My Feedback: (1)

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default RE: Throttle Position Question

You've got the right idea. Set the trim at about neutral or slightly higher, and then set the throttle so that with the stick all the way back it is idling; then when you pull your trim back, it kills the engine. This way you don't inadvertantly kill the engine when you throttle back in flight. If you haven't started the engine yet, you may need to fine-tune the adjustment when you do. At idle, the throttle barrel is just barely open, doesn't take much to keep the engine running. Welcome to RC Universe, and r/c airplanes. Good luck flying.
Old 11-11-2005, 06:39 PM
Kenny4842