Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

What Plane?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

What Plane?

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2007, 11:47 PM
Hossbog

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What Plane?

I have the Super Cub, and I love it, but I want something gas. I am still a beginner. The super cub is pretty easy to fly. I was thinking of the Hobbico NexStar 46 select rtf, or the Hanger 9 Alpha 40 rtf. I dont want a kit. Is the Active Flight Stabilization on the NexStar good, or does it make it too easy. I also think the alpha 40 has a better radio, does it? Is the JR better than the Futaba? Please let me know what you guys think.
Old 06-10-2007, 11:52 PM
ro347
My Feedback: (13)

Default RE: What Plane?

I also started with an electric and am now moving into nitro power. Take a look at the Hobbico Avistar. i have seen this thing fly and it is great. Very aerobatic...as your skills progress. Also not expensive. I have been told by those that had the Nexstar that they regret spending that much on a trainer as Do I on my Electristar. Once you get the basics down...then what? I think the abilities of the Avistar could keep someone entertained for quite a bit longer. If you chose to buy the "Ultimate Combo: from tower....You ould have everything for under $300.....in addition to the field equipment. The equipment will cost more...but you carry that with you on to your future models. Good Luck
Old 06-10-2007, 11:58 PM
Mr67Stang

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

ORIGINAL: Hossbog

I have the Super Cub, and I love it, but I want something gas.
Nitro is probably what you mean as gas is for nice big non-beginner type planes

I am still a beginner.
Good, your in the right place.

The super cub is pretty easy to fly. I was thinking of the Hobbico NexStar 46 select rtf, or the Hanger 9 Alpha 40 rtf.
Either plane would be a good choice but you could save a lot of money and just get the Tower Trainer RTF.