Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Remote controlled needle valve

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Remote controlled needle valve

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2008, 07:27 AM
skhell

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Remote controlled needle valve

Hi!

I am a complete newbie on the RC World, and I am looking build an application that could use some material from the RC world.

I need a needle valve, just like the ones that you use on your engines to fine tune them. The problem is that I need a valve than can some how be controled by some electric/electronic circuit.

Is there any valves like this on the RC world, perhaps any valve that can be adjusted by the controller while the plane is up on the skies?

If there is something like this, where can I buy it online?

Sorry if this is a stupid questioin

Thank you all
Old 08-11-2008, 07:33 AM
Flying freak

Default RE: Remote controlled needle valve

Yes theres such a thing its used for ducted fan I dont ahve a link for you though....
Old 08-11-2008, 08:04 AM
bkdavy
My Feedback: (1)

What you probably need for this application is a "continuous rotation servo" rather than the limited rotation servos we use. Do a google search and you'll find lots of options. An alternative approach would be a stepper motor.

Brad
Old 08-11-2008, 08:52 AM
skhell

Are you guys talking of something like this?

http://www.real-kbase.co.uk/csm_mixture.html
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&P=SM&I=LXDG65

A needle valve connected to a servo motor?
Old 08-11-2008, 09:29 AM
JohnBuckner

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

My rear exhaust Rossi .61 has a remote in flight mixture control that rotates the entire needle assembly about 20 degrees as a secondary to the primary needle adjustment. It is simply operated by servo and pushrod to its actuating arm. I find it unnecessary and it's just tightened off.
Old 08-11-2008, 10:12 AM
skhell