Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

OS 46 AX run in help

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

OS 46 AX run in help

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2008, 04:51 AM
Stixoz

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OS 46 AX run in help

G'Day all,

I'm a total newb and have all but finished building my Boomerang 40 with an OS 46 AX (Hitec Optic 6 radio gear), i had planned on getting this plane to a club for my first flights but it's just not happening, closest club is over 2 hours away and not really to interested in helping (very small "boys club" style club) the other club which i can get assistance from is over 4 hours away and not really feasible.

I do have a few people in my area who fly RC aircraft who i may be able to get help off but don't worry i'm not going to try and fly it by myself straight off the bat.

My question is can i safely run this engine by myself? I'm not a complete idiot but the more i learn about this hobby i realise how much i don't know. The manual for this engine does seem to contradict itself a bit and it mentions "two cycle" and "4 cycle" which i'm not familiar with. Are there any good online article that might be available or general advice for my next step in my RC aircraft career?

Thanks in advance

Stix
Old 12-12-2008, 06:33 AM
bkdavy
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: OS 46 AX run in help

The manual isn't so bad once you've actually followed the directions. What they refer to in the manual as "4 cycling" is a misnomer that has become common. What they are talking about is an engine that is running so rich, its only firing every other cycle. You must have the glow igniter connected to achieve this. It is essentially a mode where you are providing far more lubrication than normal at a much lower operating temperature than normal. Essentially force fitting the piston and cylinder.