Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Drill Motor Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2003, 12:17 PM
Dezynco

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Drill Motor Conversion

I have an old Black and Decker cordless drill with a 12 volt motor. I believe that it is about a 600 size motor. If I use this motor for an aircraft, what kind of performance can I expect? Also, do I need to solder the resistors across the terminals to reduce interference, and which size resistors, etc. do I need for the task? I've never done this before, so any help would be appreciated.

(BTW, the reason that I disassembled the old drill is because it is cheaper to buy a new drill than to replace the battery packs, which were dead, so I figured I would be a fun experiment to use the motor as an airplane engine.)
Old 09-28-2003, 04:26 PM
Lynx

Default RE: Drill Motor Conversion

If you solder a resistor across the motor terminals all you're going to do is generate a lot of smoke heat and waste a crap load of battery power => Those are capacitors not resistors, HUGE difference. And small value ceramic will do (the little orange/beige disks. You can probably put a lot more than 12 volts through it as long as you don't run it at 100% throttle all the time and cooling is adequate. Experiment untill the engine starts to smoke <smirk>
Old 09-28-2003, 04:32 PM
Dr Kiwi

Unless you can find some identification numbers on the motor it will be impossible to determine what sort of motor it is, and the only way will be to try it out! It could be anything from nominal 6v, 7.2v, 8.4v or even 12.0v. If it is the last you'll have to use 10-12 cells or more to extract all its potential power.