Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric General Discussion
Reload this Page >

Do I need a Watt Meter? Advice? Thoughts?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Do I need a Watt Meter? Advice? Thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2005, 09:20 PM
BusyBear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need a Watt Meter? Advice? Thoughts?

Do I need a Watt Meter? [sm=confused.gif]

I am brand new to electrics, still trying to sort thru all the confusion... trying figure all this electric stuff out...[sm=spinnyeyes.gif]
I do have Nitro experience, and am fling a second hand electric Bird-E-dog... working on a couple others

It seem to be that there are so many variables that you can't go very far in electrics without a watt meter. (such as the Astro Flight or Watt's up meter)

I'm leaning toward the watt's up meter...

I figure if it saves me from burning up one brushless motor or one battery pack... Its pretty much paid for itself.

Any advice or thoughts????

Thanks in advance!
Old 08-31-2005, 10:13 PM
BMKDesigns

Default RE: Do I need a Watt Meter? Advice? Thoughts?

I would never argue against getting one, better safe than sorry.
Old 08-31-2005, 10:18 PM
michpittsman
My Feedback: (11)

I went down the same road a few months ago; personally, I love my Wattsup meter. It gives instantaneous readings of amp draw and watts of power, and will also check your charger's performance. If your plane will carry 2.3 oz payload you can put it in your airplane and check the in-flight numbers when you land.

If you have the continuous amp-draw numbers for your motor, you could buy a battery pack and ESC that would supply the right amount of amps, and just go up in prop size until the motor temp starts to get up into the hot range. That will get you in the ballpark, but it is comforting to know EXACTLY what is going through the wires....Jim