Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Beginner Electric Pattern Airplane

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2005, 12:16 AM
Texas_Flyer
My Feedback: (15)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Beginner Electric Pattern Airplane

I am a relatively new flyer but have become interested in pattern flying after watching a recent contest. I've also been practicing some patterns on my simulator and really enjoy the challenge. I'm ready to move off my beginner plane (EasyStar - a GREAT first plane) and was hoping to get a 2nd plane that could also use to enter a Sportsman contest in the future. I have a Futaba 7CAP TX so I can use it to "tame" the plane as I learn to fly it. I'm an electrical engineer by training with lots of bad experiences with engines, so I'd like to go electric. And finally, I really don't want to pay an arm and a leg for it. Any suggestions?
Old 11-23-2005, 02:57 AM
RC_Pattern_Flyer
My Feedback: (1)

Default RE: Beginner Electric Pattern Airplane

First you need to decide on what size airframe u would like to use. If you go with something like the kaos 40 or magpie 50 then your battery (lipo) would be less, charger needs less, and motor/esc. Or, go 60 or 90 size.... heck even full 2 meter but that is very expensive.

After re-reading your post, I would recommend the kaos 40 from tower hobbies or you might look into GCBM Models from pasadena area http://www.gcbmrc.com/arf_index.htm the harmony sport 40. E-flite just came out with some good otrunners or you could go hacker with a gearbox. Lots of options in motor selection and i would use an astro 109 charger to begin with.

Good Luck.

Chuck Hochhalter
Old 11-23-2005, 04:43 AM
patternrules
My Feedback: (6)

If you haven't already check the glow to Electric conversion section, should find some useful info there. [link]http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/forumid_132/tt.htm[/link]
Steve Maxwell
Old 11-23-2005, 07:22 AM
flyranger