Mac conversion questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2003, 02:34 PM
Racinrc14
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Mac conversion questions

Hello fellas,

I am currently building my first big airplane:a Byron Christen Eagle. I am new to large scale airplanes, and I have a limited budget.

I have a brand new Mac weedie engine sitting at home in the garage, but it is not labeled as to it's size (displacement) and I am wondering if it is big enough for the Eagle. She should weigh 14-17 pounds when finished. If the engine is in fact big enough, is it a worthy conversion? What prop should I use? Will I be able to hand start it without the use of an electric starter? Will I have to re-carb it? Will I have to use a prop shaft extension? So many questions, sorry. I will try to get some pics of it this evening and post them here to ease in the identification of it's size. I appreciate the help, thanks.

Tommy
Old 07-01-2003, 03:29 AM
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default A bit small...

Hi,

The Macs are easy to convert, especially if you are going to use battery ignition which I recommend for ease of starting, and lighter weight. Yours is probably either a 28 or 32cc. This would be a touch small for your plane I would say. Better find something in the 40 to 50cc range. The engine weight won't be much different, and you could use the extra thrust on that Eagle. Lawnstation has good deals on Poulan chain saws that have engines that are fairly easy to convert.

Good luck,
AV8TOR
Old 07-01-2003, 04:37 AM
Racinrc14

Thanks AV8TOR. I was unable to get pics of it this evening, but these are the numbers that appear on the data plate:

MOD......40005102
SER.......15-014736

hope this helps, I will try again tomorrow evening for the pics.

Tommy
Old 07-01-2003, 12:05 PM
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts