Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > FPV, UAV & Drones
Reload this Page >

FPV with VTX only

Notices
FPV, UAV & Drones Discuss all aspects of First Person View (FPV), Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) and Drones in this forum

FPV with VTX only

Old 12-05-2020, 12:33 PM
  #1  
RickP
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 2,010
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default FPV with VTX only

Hey Guys,
I have been flying my quads FPV for a year now. I have to expand to flying airplanes. I am putting a head tracker in my goggles now, but can I simply mount my camera in the plane with a VTX and power it separately without going through a Flight Controller? I have several airframes I can try this on, but I am not sure why I need to install a FC to control the airplane....
Much Thanks,
Rick
Old 12-06-2020, 12:41 AM
  #2  
DominicM
 
DominicM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hampshire, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,979
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
Default

You've answered your own question. You don't need the FC in the airplane. You just need to supply power directly to the VTX at the correct voltage. Check what that is and decide if you can use the flight battery or need to put in something with less cells to supply a lower voltage.
Old 12-06-2020, 07:18 AM
  #3  
RickP
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
RickP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Levittown, NY
Posts: 2,010
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Hi Dominic,
That's what I thought. I'll loose the ability to OSD in the googles, bur for my first experiment in Airplane FPV I'll try without it. Much Thanks,
Rick
Old 01-28-2021, 04:48 PM
  #4  
ican3d
 
ican3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 354
Received 29 Likes on 29 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RickP View Post
Hi Dominic,
That's what I thought. I'll loose the ability to OSD in the googles, bur for my first experiment in Airplane FPV I'll try without it. Much Thanks,
Rick
You can buy a small OSD module like HK G-OSDII or Simple OSD to display data such as battery voltage, timer and coordinate/altitude (G-OSDII) on your airplane without the need of FC board.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.