Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Hand Propping a Gasser

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2013, 12:26 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Hand Propping a Gasser

Have been taking my time getting my gas 44cc Twin Tartan running and now have a good test stand, have spark, and things are set to go. What I notice flipping it dry and with no ignition source is that maximum compression is right where the hall effect sensor will tell it to fire. This has me a bit nervous and I am wondering what to expect. What is the standard procedure for hand starting a gasser? I have a lot of experience with 2 stroke engines and have hand propped full scale planes but that 20 inch prop has me a bit intimidated. All suggestions appreciated as I don't want to get hurt!
Old 10-17-2013, 01:12 AM
My Feedback: (2)

Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts

IMHO, it's your call in the end. If you're nervous about hand propping for any reason, don't do it! It's not just about famiarity, it's about your strength, reflexes, etc. and, well, your confidence level?

I hand prop all of mine (prop mounted at 1:00-2:00, using 2 fingers to pull it through), but I see many others using heavy leather gloves (welder's?), chicken sticks (or big screw driver handles), and electric starters. -Al
Old 10-17-2013, 01:35 AM

Originally Posted by thailazer
Have been taking my time getting my gas 44cc Twin Tartan running and now have a good test stand, have spark, and things are set to go. What I notice flipping it dry and with no ignition source is that maximum compression is right where the hall effect sensor will tell it to fire. This has me a bit nervous and I am wondering what to expect. What is the standard procedure for hand starting a gasser? I have a lot of experience with 2 stroke engines and have hand propped full scale planes but that 20 inch prop has me a bit intimidated. All suggestions appreciated as I don't want to get hurt!