Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

50cc engine choice

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2006, 03:10 PM
msouth12

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 50cc engine choice

I am sure you guys will hammer for asking the question of which engine is a good choice in the 50cc category. I'm sure it's been hashed to death in here, but I can't seem to find a good thread that will answer the question. If there is a good thread already, then please guide me to it. I can tell you that I am new to gas and I am going to purchase a new 80 to 85 inch 27% plane in the next month or so. I have been looking at DA, 3W, ZDZ, and Evolution motors. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
msouth
Old 10-31-2006, 03:38 PM
Jake Ruddy
My Feedback: (40)

Default RE: 50cc engine choice

Well this will just turn into a war hahha

If it were me I would look into the following:

I would look into the Brillelli 60 http://brillelli.com/brillelli_engines_009.htm It's more powerful then it's light. They also have awesome customer service.

I would look at the Taurus 3.2 http://www.taurus-engines.com/taurus_ts52.html These again are very powerful and very smooth running. Again greta customer service.

The others 50s you mentioned are great engines but I think these have them beat. DA is nice but known to have a slightly rough sounding mid-range and continous updates are needed. 3w50 is a nice engine but on the heavy side. Evolution 58 has had many reports of failed gaskets etc so far and its heavy as well.

Can't really knock the ZDZ 50 I havent really followed that engine.. but hav read a bit on. First 2 engiens I would really be my choice.

Best thing to do is start a search because everyone is going to say something different. I can tell you I dont think you will find a bad thread on either the Brillelli line or the Taurus line.

Hope this helps
Old 10-31-2006, 05:17 PM
Bob Laine
My Feedback: (91)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post