Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

DL50 Ignition timing setting guide.

Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DL50 Ignition timing setting guide.

Old 06-15-2009, 07:15 AM
farooq

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DL50 Ignition timing setting guide.

Hi

Ineed to set the ignition timing setting on my DL50. Can anyone guide me the simplest and accurate method. I have no previous knowledge or special tool for it.

Old 06-15-2009, 10:15 AM
pe reivers

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DL50 Ignition timing setting guide.

You need at least a degree wheel, and then set the timing at 28° before top dead center.
Without tools, set the sensor so you have equal correction travel either side, and hope for the best.
Old 06-15-2009, 10:29 AM
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)

Instructions at bottom of page:
http://www.ch-ignitions.com/CHinst.html

Print this out and make the gizmo they show for measuring the timing:
http://www.ch-ignitions.com/timing.html

You're looking at 28-30 degrees.

Old 06-15-2009, 08:28 PM
krproton

ORIGINAL: pe reivers

You need at least a degree wheel, and then set the timing at 28° before top dead center.
Without tools, set the sensor so you have equal correction travel either side, and hope for the best.
Hey "pe."

Sorry if I'm asking a dumb question, but how far can the timing actually be off (and how will it affect the way the engine runs) if you just center the hall sensor fron side-to-side on its mounting bolts? I mean, the flywheel (with magnet) is keyed, so you can't mess that up, and there isn't much free play (adjustment) on the hall sensor either way. Do tell.

And thanks!

Old 06-16-2009, 06:27 AM
pe reivers

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There is quite a broad range of settings that will give you the exact same rpm on a prop. Some engines even accept 40° advance, while others need only 20°.