Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > PST Jets
Reload this Page >

Problem with PST600

Notices
PST Jets Direct support for PST Jets Turbines.

Problem with PST600

Old 03-13-2010, 12:51 AM
  #1  
Aussie1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: AdelaideSth Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 282
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Problem with PST600

Up until now I have no problems with my PST600 engine using the original Orbit ECU. On start up the other day, it ramped up fine until about 65K, then rapidly accelerated to about 145K and appeared to be hunting for a stable speed with RPM varying between 134-145K and the display unit still showing that it was being calibrated. It was obvious that I was not going to get control of the engine, so I shut it down. I inspected all wiring and went back and checked all the programmable parameters, and then tried again. Same thing happened for another 3 runs. I scratched my head and decided to remove the engine from the model, from where I discovered that one of the Hall Effect RPM sensors was all black, while the opposite one was all clear. Sort of like a small LED Christmas tree light bulb. Please, I need some help with a few questions!
1/ Should they both be clear? ie- black means burnt out.
2/ Is it something that I could buy from a good electronics store.
3/ Would PST Jets sell them as a spare part, and how much?
Do you think that I have found the problem, or could something else on this engine cause it to not calibrate and appear to be chasing RPM, especially in the higher RPMs?
I look forward to your responses and appreciate the help that I have gained from here in the past.
Old 03-17-2010, 07:18 PM
  #2  
B777
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 726
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problem with PST600

Hi David,

I think that you have the Infra-Red sensor and not the Hall Effects (magnetic). I'm not sure if we still have the Infra-Red sensors in stock. I will check.

Changing the system to Hall Effects requires implantation of magnet in the turbine spinner. What is your J600 serial number?

Regards,
Kraivuth S.
PST Jets
Old 03-24-2010, 02:08 AM
  #3  
Aussie1
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: AdelaideSth Australia, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 282
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Problem with PST600

ORIGINAL: B777

Hi David,

I think that you have the Infra-Red sensor and not the Hall Effects (magnetic). I'm not sure if we still have the Infra-Red sensors in stock. I will check.

Changing the system to Hall Effects requires implantation of magnet in the turbine spinner. What is your J600 serial number?

Regards,
Kraivuth S.
PST Jets
Kraivuth, I managed to fix the engine myself. While attempting to remove the transmitting diode, I damaged it, but after a little bit of research with local PST owners, (thanks Giggo and Paul) I was able to source the part myself from a local electronics shop. I also found the final fuel filter at the engine loose and partly blocked, so I fixed that as well. I then reset the Orbit ECU to factory specs, and then reprogrammed to my normal settings. Guess what!? It now runs perfectly, but I am wondering whether it would be worth uprating the engine to the more powerfull verion of the 600?
Thanks for your email help.
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView...T&SUBCATID=245
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki18137.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	5.1 KB
ID:	1403836  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.