Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

engine for Top Flight Corsair

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

engine for Top Flight Corsair

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2011, 03:59 AM
Viva Las Vegas

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine for Top Flight Corsair

Hello to all,

I am new to the RC forums so I'm not sure I am in the right area but here goes,although I have been involved in the hobby for about five years I consider myself to be in the beginner level.My main interest is in sport scale and scale aircraft kits. I have recently purchased a Top Flight gold edition Corsair kit and plan on as much scale detail as I can manage, along with the kit I bought Robart retracts and retact tail wheel,dummy radial eng and cockpit kit. This is my most ambitious project so far. I have narrowed my engine search to 1. OS- FS120III w pump 2. Saito- FA 125A and have just heard about the RCV 120SP engine with which I might be able to use four blade scale prop and this is something I would very much like to do. Also would verymuch like to create a scale exhaust system. Thanks ahead for any and all advice.

Best regards,
Viva Las Vegas!
Old 07-05-2011, 06:04 AM
jaka

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: engine for Top Flight Corsair

Hi!
I have been in this hobby (R/C) since 1975.
...And I have heard many people like you wishing to fly WW2 fighters.
The most common mistake newcomers do ( Yeah, I consider 5 years a newcomer) is over powering a plane and most important, Getting a plane that is way too heavy!

Remember, your plane is fairly small and if painted will weigh rather much so do not use a 20cc (1.20) fourstroke or any other engine that size.
A much better choice (if you fly at sea level that is) is to use a 15cc (.90) four stroke or a 15cc two stroke.
Using a large volume silencer the two stroke will be quieter than the fourstroke and weigh less.