Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter General Discussions
Reload this Page >

CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

Notices
RC Helicopter General Discussions Discuss RC Helis here. Nitro, gas, turbine and any make, model or brand not having its own specific forum below!

CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

Old 05-23-2008, 09:29 AM
  #1  
weruweru
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

When I bought my blade 400, the pitch servo was twitching ALL the time. I called HH, they told me the servo was bad and sent me a new one. I installed it and the twitching was gone.
Now I installed a Castle Creations Bec and I have twitching all over the place. If I go back to the internal Bec from the esc, all is well.

Please help me, do you think the CC BEC is causing interference, or could it be bad?
any suggestions?
Thanks
Old 05-23-2008, 10:21 AM
  #2  
redvtr1000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: covington, GA
Posts: 738
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

definitely sounds like the bec is causing the interference if the problem goes away when you remove it from the system. I have found that BECs can easily cause glitches, even on spektrum systems. Check your placement of the BEC. Going to be tough on such a small heli but you probably have it sitting to close to something else. I can tell you that you don't want it anywhere near your rx or gyro if you can as I have had the most troubles when they are close.

See if you cant unmount the bec but leave it connected and stretch it out away from the rest of the electronics while the heli is powered up and glitching. If the problem goes away and the bec is powering the rx up fine, I'd bet there is no problem with it and it is just too close to something else.
Old 05-23-2008, 10:59 AM
  #3  
weruweru
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

I have done what you said and have them unmounted and apart, but still does the same thing.
Old 05-23-2008, 12:21 PM
  #4  
redvtr1000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: covington, GA
Posts: 738
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

hmm,

this is one of those things that you are going to have a hard time figuring out. Do you have another heli you could try the BEC in? If so, do that and see if it causes problems there as well. Otherwise, try another bec in your problem heli and see if that fixes it. You could always contact castle and see what they say. After I trashed my last castle bec I bought one from justgofly.com for 12 bucks I think. It has worked great but is pretty finicky on location, I mount it up front right next to the esc.

You could pick one of those up if you don't have a spare and then send the castle in if it turns out to be something wrong.

Why are you running an external bec anyways? were you having power problems?

Is the heli glitching any time the bec/esc/rx are powered up or only when the blades are turning?
Old 05-23-2008, 12:42 PM
  #5  
VulcanGrey
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

Did you remove the red wire from the ESC to the RX as the CC BEC instructions show?

If you did not, try that.
If you did, try putting it back in. Some ESC's need the red wire going to the RX to function properly.
Old 05-23-2008, 12:46 PM
  #6  
weruweru
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

I called CC and the rep told me to remove the signal wire from the BEC. However, it did not solve my problem.
The funny thing is, I don't even need a BEC. I was going to switch to Deans connector, so I decided to solder the BEC at the same time. I thought I would be needing it in the future when I upgrade the servos.
Old 05-23-2008, 12:47 PM
  #7  
weruweru
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?


ORIGINAL: VulcanGrey

Did you remove the red wire from the ESC to the RX as the CC BEC instructions show?

If you did not, try that.
If you did, try putting it back in. Some ESC's need the red wire going to the RX to function properly.
I did remove the red wire, but I don't think I should have both of them connected.
Old 05-23-2008, 02:34 PM
  #8  
VulcanGrey
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

I've tried it both ways on mine. Works both ways with my ESC.


Some ESC's need that red wire. try putting the red wire back in the ESC connector with the BEC in the system, and see if it still has the problem.

MY ESC has a built in 2A BEC, but that was not enough for my 3 Hitec HS-65MG's, Hitec HS-81, and GY-401, the servos all jittered and the ESC got very warm just during programming. So I installed the CC BEC and now everything is good, no jitters.
Old 05-23-2008, 05:20 PM
  #9  
redvtr1000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: covington, GA
Posts: 738
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

the red wire from the esc is basically the output from the BEC circuit inside the esc. By cutting it you simply are keeping the esc from providing power to the receiver. I can't remember for sure but doesn't the CC bec have a three wire plug going to the rx as well? IF so, you can remove the orange wire from the bec plug. The orange should be your signal wire and you could try taking that out as well but I doubt that it is going to make a difference.

For my purposes, I never cut any of those wires. I used the shortest extensions I could find and cut the wire out of the extension that way I wasn't changing the electronics where I couldn't have them like they were from the factory. On my MT though, I removed the red wire from the esc and the orange from the bec. I had to because I was going with a spektrum rx and if I didn't do it that way the rx always wanted to go into bind mode. I am doubtful that either of these items are the root of your problem.

does it do this anytime it is powered on or only while the blades are turning?
Old 05-23-2008, 07:00 PM
  #10  
VulcanGrey
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

I would never cut the wires, you can just remove the pin from the connector by sliding a knife under the plastic clip. THen slide the red wire out.

In my heli, I left the red wire on the ESC and BEC... Since they are both set to 5 volts, I have a redundant power system. If either dies, then I should still have a few Amps of 5 volts to power the servos. The ESC's BEC couldn't supply enough current for all the servos under load, but it'll work long enough to get her down.

If you have the CC BEC set to 6V, and the ESC BEC is not able to supply 6V, then you should remove the red wire.
Old 05-24-2008, 11:06 AM
  #11  
weruweru
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 26
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

I just removed the pins (no cuting) for the red wire in the esc and the orange wire in the cc bec. Same problem, so I called CC again, and they are sending me a new CC BEC because it looks like the one I have is defective. Let's hope that is the case.
Old 05-28-2008, 10:26 AM
  #12  
redvtr1000
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: covington, GA
Posts: 738
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: CC BEC causing interference or damaged?

Vulcan, I wasn't suggesting he cut the wires on the esc or the bec, just plug in an extension and chop it off or completely remove the wire like you suggested. Personally, I've got enough extensions lying around that I can just cut the wire off and not worry about the 2 dollars.

Let us know when you get the new bec, I'm interested to see if that fixes it.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.