Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Old 10-16-2010, 05:44 PM
  #1  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Hi

This is my first turbine with Jetcat P-80SE engine on FB F-15 1/9. I set the gap between the turbine and exhaust pipe as 2.5 cm (1" approx.) but I am not sure if its ok or not ?

I will be glad to here your replies if its ok as a starting point.

Thanks
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51948.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	91.4 KB
ID:	1517850  
Old 10-16-2010, 05:52 PM
  #2  
Countryboy
My Feedback: (25)
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,656
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

The gap should be fine, but on an open install you need a bell-mouth on the pipe to smooth the entry.
Old 10-16-2010, 06:09 PM
  #3  
trioval00
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: wilkes barre, PA
Posts: 2,408
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

I agree, the gap is fine, but must have the bell mouth.....


Mark
Old 10-16-2010, 06:24 PM
  #4  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Where can I find that bell mouth thing for my model??
Old 10-16-2010, 08:29 PM
  #5  
trioval00
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: wilkes barre, PA
Posts: 2,408
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

first, whose pipe is it? if you do not know, try FB , and if that does not work out , the call the man himself, Tam Jets. Tam sould be able to help you. But the bell mouth is a must..


Mark
Old 10-17-2010, 10:43 AM
  #6  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Its the pipe which is included with the kit.
Old 10-17-2010, 10:55 AM
  #7  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,139
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

ORIGINAL: eskiserkan

Its the pipe which is included with the kit.
Then it should have came with one. Ask FB to send you one. and the gap is supposed to be from the edge of the bellmouth not where the pipe starts.
Old 10-18-2010, 09:11 AM
  #8  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

I sent an e-mail to FB about bell mouth and got a reply from them which says that its not available.

Now, I will ask Tamjets for the same thing. Hope they help.
Old 10-18-2010, 09:47 AM
  #9  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,139
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)


ORIGINAL: eskiserkan

I sent an e-mail to FB about bell mouth and got a reply from them which says that its not available.

Now, I will ask Tamjets for the same thing. Hope they help.
Was this kit new? Give me the diameter of your pipe. I may have an extra bellmouth off an old skymaster pipe you can have.

Andy
Old 10-18-2010, 11:17 AM
  #10  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Inner pipe has a diameter about 85-90mm and outer the one 105-110mm.
Old 10-18-2010, 11:41 AM
  #11  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,139
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

The one I have is 84mm. If you think it will work you are welcome to it.
Old 10-18-2010, 11:51 AM
  #12  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Could you send me the photo of it please ?
Old 10-18-2010, 12:18 PM
  #13  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,139
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Here you go. You could probably trim this to fit. I didn't think about that earlier.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	db85738.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	1518927   Click image for larger version

Name:	xu62353.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	161.8 KB
ID:	1518928  
Old 10-18-2010, 09:25 PM
  #14  
AndyAndrews
 
AndyAndrews's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Little Rock, AR
Posts: 6,139
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

I mailed it to you today. Hope it works out for you.
Old 10-18-2010, 10:19 PM
  #15  
SPLIT S
Senior Member
 
SPLIT S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Blandon, PA
Posts: 1,171
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

That's nice to see Andy. Now that is what the hobby should be (and for the most part is) about.

Dan
Old 10-21-2010, 04:39 PM
  #16  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Once again thanks a lot Andy. I will disturb you again after I received it
Old 11-21-2010, 01:56 PM
  #17  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Hi Guys

I got the "Bell Mouth" from Andy (thanks a lot again) and installed it into my pipe.

But the distance has decreased nearly by one cm between end of the exhaust nozzle and entrance of the bell mouth. Now the measured actual distance is 1.65 cm as you can see in the photo.

My question is : Will it work like that ?

I will be glad if you can let me know.

Old 11-21-2010, 02:31 PM
  #18  
Countryboy
My Feedback: (25)
 
Countryboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Lawrenceburg, KY
Posts: 2,656
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

At 1.65 cm you are near 5/8 on an inch, so the gap should still work fine. Be sure to check out the thread titled "Pay it forward" and tell your story. Andy deserves it.
Old 11-21-2010, 03:01 PM
  #19  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,649
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

ORIGINAL: eskiserkan

Hi Guys

I got the ''Bell Mouth'' from Andy (thanks a lot again) and installed it into my pipe.

But the distance has decreased nearly by one cm between end of the exhaust nozzle and entrance of the bell mouth. Now the measured actual distance is 1.65 cm as you can see in the photo.

My question is : Will it work like that ?

I will be glad if you can let me know.


here is the first drawing : http://www.jetcat.de/downloads/p80drawun.pdf
and this picture , a good source to have even if you dont read german
Old 11-21-2010, 03:15 PM
  #20  
FILE IFR
 
FILE IFR 's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clinton, MA
Posts: 2,138
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

The problem with that link (JetCat instructions) is they show an old P80 in the drawing... the new P-80SEs do not have that cone configuration.

JetCat needs to change their drawing for the new P-80 SE belmouth instructions.
Old 11-21-2010, 03:28 PM
  #21  
digitech
My Feedback: (10)
 
digitech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: klimmenlimburg, NETHERLANDS
Posts: 3,649
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)


ORIGINAL: FILE IFR

The problem with that link (JetCat instructions) is they show an old P80 in the drawing... the new P-80SEs do not have that cone configuration.

JetCat needs to change their drawing for the new P-80 SE belmouth instructions.

that is why i putthe picture also , this is for all turbines with the new configuration
Old 11-21-2010, 05:30 PM
  #22  
eskiserkan
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: istanbul, HI, TURKEY
Posts: 75
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

According to JETCAT drawing I need to get some part of the exhaust cone inside of the bell mouth right ?
Old 11-21-2010, 07:02 PM
  #23  
FILE IFR
 
FILE IFR 's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Clinton, MA
Posts: 2,138
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

I would place the pipe's bellmouth lip 1/2" to 5/8" from the very end of the P-80SE's tailcone. You'll have plenty of cool air entering into the pipe too.


One more very important step is to be sure the pipe is aligned perfectly center to the turbine outlet.

You can check this by looking down the pipe and center your eye on the turbine wheel's inner rounded tailcone (you may need a flashlight) to see if the 3 outer hex screws are centered within the bellmouth, while your eye is still fixed in this position, look at the exit end of the pipe to be sure it's centered on the turbine's inner rounded tailcone (exit of the pipe is not lower or higher than the shaft nut).... shim the pipe or an end of the engine to get the desired centering.

A mis-aligned pipe will created a hotspot on one side of the pipe's interior... this could collapse the pipe in the worst circumstance.

Old 11-21-2010, 11:39 PM
  #24  
Ayrtonsenna
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 398
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Hi Guys, I also need some advice, I've got a P160 going in my SM hawk and need to check the clearance between the end of the turbine tail cone, and the start the Bellmouth.

Its currently 1.18 inch - and things seem to be alittle warm for me, aircraft has only been run on the ground, airflow etc, I'm just surprised how warm the sides of the fuzz are.

Being my first, just want to make sure..

Cheers

Ants
Old 11-22-2010, 12:46 PM
  #25  
Ayrtonsenna
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 398
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Is that OK ? (Turbine to pipe gap)

Anyone?

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.