Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Jeti-duplex-ds-16-2.4-ghz >

Jeti-duplex-ds-16-2.4-ghz

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jeti-duplex-ds-16-2.4-ghz

Old 02-09-2016, 04:33 AM
  #2426  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a mil David - see - I had no idea I'd need to connect my Tx to the computer....I'll give it a bash...cheers
Old 02-09-2016, 05:50 AM
  #2427  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi David - worked like a charm - many thanks for your help.
cheers,
L
Old 02-09-2016, 12:38 PM
  #2428  
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chester, VA
Posts: 262
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Does anyone know how to mix the mspeed airspeed telemetry into the throttle channel of a turbine to maintain a minimum airspeed?

Thanks,

Bob Neal
Old 02-09-2016, 03:20 PM
  #2429  
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,299
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bobneal1
Does anyone know how to mix the mspeed airspeed telemetry into the throttle channel of a turbine to maintain a minimum airspeed?

Thanks,

Bob Neal
Bob,

I haven't personally done this and I'm not sure how well it will work because of turbine lag and delays of airspeed being updated by telemetry but I'll make some suggestions for what I think you would need to do in general.

First, use Advanced Properties, Telemetry Controls to setup Mx1. Give it a name and enable it. Set Sensor to Velocity and Control type to Proportional. I think you will probably want to set your Range to something like 15, 20, 25 assuming you want to maintain a minimum speed of about 20m/s and not have the control active unless your speed is greater than15 m/s and less than 25m/s. Leave Filtering at 1 for now. The higher the number the smoother control will respond and the slower it will be updated. Default is the value applied when no sensor is present so I guess 0 is Okay for now. Switch allows you to assign any switch to enable/disable Mx1. Be sure to assign a switch so you can shut Mx1 off if it isn't working properly.

Create a Free Mix of ... to Throttle with a Master Value of something like 30%(max throttle increase) and Switch set to Mx1. When selecting Mx1, I think you will want a a range of 100% - 0%. What you want is the mix to be OFF when your airspeed is above the the range where Mx1 is active and to increase your throttle as your speed decreases.

These suggestions are just some broad strokes to help get you started. Hopefully someone that has done this will have more specific suggestions.

Whatever you do, test everything thoroughly on the ground and have a way to be able to disable Mx1 in case things won't work as expected in flight.

I suspect that this will take LOTS of fiddling with speed ranges and filtering in the telemetry control and master value in the mix. Even then because of the turbine lag, combined with additional delays to actually speed up the model, I suspect this won't work all that great.

As a secondary idea, if you decide this doesn't work well you can use the Vario function to give you an audible alert based on air speed. The Vario function will accept any sensor value, not just altitude. I have this in my Boomerang XL and when I'm on approach, I enable it. If I'm flying at the ideal approach speed, it is completely silent, if to fast, it beeps giving rising tones. Too slow and it beeps giving falling tones. It actually works pretty well in conditions where you need a long approach and it can be difficult to determine your speed since the model is essentially coming straight at you..

Hope this is of some help.

Last edited by wfield0455; 02-10-2016 at 07:03 AM.
Old 02-10-2016, 08:11 AM
  #2430  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: , FL
Posts: 423
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have received the 24 channel update for R3/RSW and Rsat 2 receivers. It will be posted on our web sites in few hours.

http://www.espritmodel.com/jeti-firmware-updates.aspx
http://shop.jetiusa.com/Articles.asp?ID=256

I also got the beta 24 channel Firmware update for R5-R9, if somebody would like to test it please email me to [email protected]

Zb/Jeti USA
Old 02-10-2016, 09:45 AM
  #2431  
My Feedback: (10)
 
mr_matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Oak Park, CA,
Posts: 10,446
Likes: 0
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bobneal1
Does anyone know how to mix the mspeed airspeed telemetry into the throttle channel of a turbine to maintain a minimum airspeed?

Thanks,

Bob Neal
Hey Bob off topic in case you have a JetCat . it will do what you want (minimum airspeed) in the ECU with the lowest lag your turbine will support just FYI
Old 02-10-2016, 11:09 AM
  #2432  
My Feedback: (21)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chester, VA
Posts: 262
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by mr_matt
Hey Bob off topic in case you have a JetCat . it will do what you want (minimum airspeed) in the ECU with the lowest lag your turbine will support just FYI
Yes I am using a Jetcat.
So that is with the Jetcat airspeed sensor ?
Thanks,
Bob Neal
Old 02-11-2016, 06:38 AM
  #2433  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Can anyone tell me why my Tx has stopped logging flight files (log). The last flight log is dated 20 Aug 2015...and I've flown many times since then. I've looked at the log files using my computer and the logging stops on 20 Aug 15...Any ideas please?thanks,
Old 02-11-2016, 06:43 AM
  #2434  
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 81
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Mi-25
Can anyone tell me why my Tx has stopped logging flight files (log). The last flight log is dated 20 Aug 2015...and I've flown many times since then. I've looked at the log files using my computer and the logging stops on 20 Aug 15...Any ideas please?thanks,
SD Card full maybe?
Old 02-11-2016, 06:50 AM
  #2435  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: , FL
Posts: 423
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Reset your TIME and DATE, if you did the firmware update they have changed.

Zb/Jeti USA
Old 02-11-2016, 01:29 PM
  #2436  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Maybe full...but how do I check that?
Old 02-11-2016, 01:33 PM
  #2437  
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Hong Kong, CHINA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks ZB - will check. Reason I need the latest log file is I lost my jet on it's maiden flight...almost no control after takeoff (felt unreal - as though someone else was flying it - would not respond properly to my inputs)...so wanted to check the antenna strengths...running Double Path. If the date and time are incorrect, is there ANY way to retrieve the last flight?....I wouldn't think so, just hoping!
Old 02-12-2016, 09:43 AM
  #2438  
My Feedback: (2)
 
JimBrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Rockland, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,132
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Look for the log file with the oldest dates. I don't remember off hand what date the clock gets reset to, but I think it is something like January, 2014.

...jim
Old 02-13-2016, 07:47 AM
  #2439  
My Feedback: (6)
 
luv2flyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Mississauga, ON, CANADA
Posts: 1,694
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

As Jim says, the logs are most likely there but, are hard to find because they have the wrong dates on them.

Mike
Old 02-17-2016, 11:12 AM
  #2440  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (32)
 
k_sonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,587
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Just received the carbon red DS-16 with the v4 firmware installed. I will be transitioning from a Futaba 18MZ so I'm sure I will have a question or two. Coming from a software development and customer support background, I love the idea of thinking of the transmitter output in terms of functions instead of channels. That opens a whole new world of programming options.

I will be converting a Skymaster Viper, Skymaster PC-21, and a Hanger 9 30cc P-47 and I'm currently working on a Robart/Ziroli P-47. The H9 P-47 will be first and I'll be using the R9 receiver. The Viper, PC-21 currently have the Powerbox Royal SRS and the Robart P-47 has the Powerbox Champion SRS.

So far I've gotten through about a 3rd of this thread but I haven't seen anyone using the Powerbox system. Is anyone using Powerbox with the DS-16?

Oh, by the way, in a few weeks I'll have the 18MZ and a bunch of sBus receivers for sell. Contact me if interested.

Thanks,
Kirk

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jeti DS-16 1.jpg
Views:	895
Size:	255.9 KB
ID:	2148041   Click image for larger version

Name:	Jeti DS-16 2.jpg
Views:	932
Size:	236.2 KB
ID:	2148042  
Old 02-17-2016, 11:43 AM
  #2441  
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,700
Received 85 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Welcome to the Jeti brand!
Old 02-17-2016, 02:06 PM
  #2442  
 
madmodelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Corby, Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,232
Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Hi Kirk, welcome to Jeti. You'll never look back! I had one of the first mainly because I use Powerbox, I chose that route because I only had to purchase two Rsats (R3's for you ) for each model to convert my jet fleet. In those days PB couldn't keep up with the pace of Jeti's upgrades but all fine now. You'll love it! Gary.
Old 02-17-2016, 02:47 PM
  #2443  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (32)
 
k_sonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,587
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Bob and Gary. I sold the 18MZ today so there's no looking back for sure

I'd like to give Bob_B kudos. He spent a good bit of time last Saturday answering my questions about the Jeti DS-16 which helped me make an informed decision about making the switch. Thanks Bob!!

Kirk

Last edited by k_sonn; 02-17-2016 at 03:11 PM.
Old 02-18-2016, 07:19 AM
  #2444  
My Feedback: (39)
 
bluelevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 466
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by k_sonn
The Viper, PC-21 currently have the Powerbox Royal SRS and the Robart P-47 has the Powerbox Champion SRS. So far I've gotten through about a 3rd of this thread but I haven't seen anyone using the Powerbox system. Is anyone using Powerbox with the DS-16?
I am also using Jeti & Powerbox stuff, just ask if you have specific questions.

Thomas
Old 02-18-2016, 10:19 AM
  #2445  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (32)
 
k_sonn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Pasadena, MD
Posts: 2,587
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluelevel
I am also using Jeti & Powerbox stuff, just ask if you have specific questions.

Thomas
Thanks Thomas.
Old 02-18-2016, 12:48 PM
  #2446  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Kuopio Finland , EU
Posts: 430
Received 19 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Hi.

Could someone give me a step-by-step how to use Jeti with xicoy adapter (VT80) to announce flameout?
Old 02-18-2016, 01:16 PM
  #2447  
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,700
Received 85 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ceeray
Hi.

Could someone give me a step-by-step how to use Jeti with xicoy adapter (VT80) to announce flameout?

First tell me about your setup, are using a Central Box?
Old 02-18-2016, 01:35 PM
  #2448  
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,299
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Ceeray
Hi.

Could someone give me a step-by-step how to use Jeti with xicoy adapter (VT80) to announce flameout?
It depends on what the ECU does with the fuel Pump voltage when a flameout occurs.
Assuming the ECU will shut down the fuel pump to prevent dumping fuel into a stopped turbine I would try the following:
In Timers/Sensor, Alarms, ADD an Alarm, set Sensor to "Pump" and Enable it. Set Condition to X < 0.1V and File
to the .wav file you want played when a flameout occurs. You can also set Switch to any switch you would like to enable the alarm
so that it won't be triggered before the Turbine has been started.

This is all based on the assumption that the Pump will go to 0 following a flame-out and if that isn't the case,
I don't see any other telemetry items (EGT, Speed [RPM], Bat, Throttle or Fuel) that would be updated quickly
enough to be useful.
Old 02-18-2016, 01:57 PM
  #2449  
My Feedback: (2)
 
JSF-TC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,305
Likes: 0
Received 135 Likes on 79 Posts
Default

Ceeray/ Wayne,

I have a Flameout warning implemented on my jets, and I use 2 Logical Functions.

L1 with pump voltage <0.1V and EGT >250, and
L2 with L1 and the engine start switch to on.

The warning audio is triggered from L2.

Using the EGT means that you don't get the warning before the engine has gone through a start cycle, and then using L2 with the start switch means you don't get the warning when you shutdown the engine.

During a flame out, the pump voltage goes to zero before the EGT drops below 250, triggering the flameout audio file.

You may have to play with the minimum pump voltage and the EGT to avoid nuisance warnings during start. Sometimes I get a flameout warning if I start right after a shutdown, but it's rare.


Paul
Old 02-18-2016, 02:49 PM
  #2450  
My Feedback: (39)
 
bluelevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 466
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

The pump voltage dropping below 0,1V is definitely be the right alarm to configure to detect a flameout. I have it bound to my gear switch so that this alarm is only active when the gear is up. This way I do not get any false alarms during start up or shut down. Should a flameout occur with the gear and flaps down, I am doomed anyway :-)

Thomas

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.