Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Kingtech presents the all new T1 sports jet

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Kingtech presents the all new T1 sports jet

Old 08-23-2020, 10:00 AM
  #2551  
winter1
Senior Member
 
winter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Carlsbad - Czech Republic
Posts: 181
Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Guys, how do you set "fail safe" on your jets? ***winter***
Old 08-23-2020, 11:28 AM
  #2552  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,618
Received 80 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by winter1 View Post
Guys, how do you set "fail safe" on your jets? ***winter***
ĎSince your on Jeti.....the same way I set the rest in the CBís set at 1.5 secs

Kingtech motor also have a failsafe set to 1.5 seconds in the ecu software...
Old 08-23-2020, 06:13 PM
  #2553  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by winter1 View Post
Guys, how do you set "fail safe" on your jets? ***winter***
Do you mean what position I set each channel, like HOLD vs. a preset position? Or do you mean how long for system to wait until executing Failsafe positions?
i wish Cortex and PB had something like the Jeti Assist Intelligent Failsafe feature.

Last edited by Tip22v; 08-23-2020 at 06:16 PM.
Old 08-23-2020, 06:25 PM
  #2554  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,815
Received 40 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

I’m in interested in hearing how others setup failsafe on their jets as well. Specifically hold, or a set position and why? Aside from throttle to idle.... I usually just go with hold since i have no idea when and where a failsafe condition might happen. I can’t see how setting any surface to any set position is going to do any good.
Old 08-23-2020, 07:56 PM
  #2555  
camss69
My Feedback: (46)
 
camss69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,815
Received 40 Likes on 32 Posts
Default

So I went to install my steering servo into the nose gear mount (I’m using Electron) and to my surprise it doesn’t fit! It’s too wide for the mount which I didn’t even think would be an issue. I’m using a Savox 1267 (I think it is) because I happened to have it on hand. Does anyone have a HV Savox servo that does fit? I’d like to keep them all Savox. If not, anyone recommend a good HV MKS that fits?
Old 08-23-2020, 09:19 PM
  #2556  
MarkF
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 245
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

My servo was a tight fit too. I took a small sanding board and made the opening bigger. It only needed to be 1 mm bigger.
Old 08-24-2020, 03:52 AM
  #2557  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,618
Received 80 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

I had to file the opening in mine a little as well....

For the failsafe......I program, gear up, flaps up, motor off.....and all surfaces to the trimmed neutral positions.....and then I would pray that it doesn’t hit anyone or anything.....
The following users liked this post:
bodywerks (08-24-2020)
Old 08-24-2020, 09:19 AM
  #2558  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by camss69 View Post
I’m in interested in hearing how others setup failsafe on their jets as well. Specifically hold, or a set position and why? Aside from throttle to idle.... I usually just go with hold since i have no idea when and where a failsafe condition might happen. I can’t see how setting any surface to any set position is going to do any good.
I go with setting Ailerons, Rudder, and Elevator to neutral, Flaps Up, Gear Up, Throttle OFF. I agree that it likely won't do any good no matter what you set it to, that's just what I do. Regarding the gear, I figure there is a slightly better chance the gear will survive if they are retracted. This is why I really like the Jeti Assist Intelligent Failsafe feature, sadly a similar feature is not available on Cortex or iGyro. Intelligent Failsafe, if activated, puts the aircraft in a gyro stabilized level decent until impact, which greatly improves the chances of your turbine and other gear surviving. As Dansy noted above, prayers are needed to avoid hitting someone or something. -Tom

Last edited by Tip22v; 08-24-2020 at 09:21 AM.
Old 08-24-2020, 09:19 AM
  #2559  
smcharg
My Feedback: (1)
 
smcharg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 488
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

All,

I have an extra New In Box Advanced Radio Smooth Flight ARXL w/Gyro and Sequencing if anyone is interested. I know Pacific RC is out and I'd let it go if someone needs one. PM me if you're interested.






Old 08-24-2020, 10:07 AM
  #2560  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,618
Received 80 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
I go with setting Ailerons, Rudder, and Elevator to neutral, Flaps Up, Gear Up, Throttle OFF. I agree that it likely won't do any good no matter what you set it to, that's just what I do. Regarding the gear, I figure there is a slightly better chance the gear will survive if they are retracted. This is why I really like the Jeti Assist Intelligent Failsafe feature, sadly a similar feature is not available on Cortex or iGyro. Intelligent Failsafe, if activated, puts the aircraft in a gyro stabilized level decent until impact, which greatly improves the chances of your turbine and other gear surviving. As Dansy noted above, prayers are needed to avoid hitting someone or something. -Tom
Actually the stabilize descent is not something I would use...it only extend the glide area....I rather get it in the ground closer to where Iím flying less chance to do any harm or damage...

If I would ever loose link (never did before 40+ years) I wouldnít be concerned much about saving the plane....I can always cry after itís safe deep into the ground....
Old 08-25-2020, 01:19 PM
  #2561  
Tip22v
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 1,030
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default

I
Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
Actually the stabilize descent is not something I would use...it only extend the glide area....I rather get it in the ground closer to where I’m flying less chance to do any harm or damage...

If I would ever loose link (never did before 40+ years) I wouldn’t be concerned much about saving the plane....I can always cry after it’s safe deep into the ground....
Thanks for your perspective, it's good to understand all the different options and reasonings. I suppose there are an infinite number of ways to game this scenario, one thing is certain though, loosing control of a 35 lb turbine jet is a bad thing. Be care about saying "never did..." because I went 42 years before I lost my first (and only one so far) aircraft to a radio problem. -Tom
Old 08-25-2020, 01:57 PM
  #2562  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,618
Received 80 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Tip22v View Post
I

Thanks for your perspective, it's good to understand all the different options and reasonings. I suppose there are an infinite number of ways to game this scenario, one thing is certain though, loosing control of a 35 lb turbine jet is a bad thing. Be care about saying "never did..." because I went 42 years before I lost my first (and only one so far) aircraft to a radio problem. -Tom
I guess Iím safe.....Iím above that 42 years mark 🤪

just joking....Iím not superstitious.......
The following users liked this post:
bodywerks (08-25-2020)
Old 08-25-2020, 05:08 PM
  #2563  
MarkF
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 245
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Well mines up on her feet. Got all the servos and retracts done. Waiting on a part for my fan and then I can finish her up.
The following 2 users liked this post by MarkF:
bodywerks (08-25-2020), winter1 (08-26-2020)
Old 08-25-2020, 10:13 PM
  #2564  
winter1
Senior Member
 
winter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Carlsbad - Czech Republic
Posts: 181
Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Thank you guys.
Yesterday I weighed T1, and adjusted the CG. I'll start at 255mm from the leading edge. Weight with UAT filling + about 1 cm of fuel is less than 14 kg - / 30.68 lb /. ***winter***
The following users liked this post:
Dansy (08-26-2020)
Old 08-26-2020, 04:38 AM
  #2565  
smcharg
My Feedback: (1)
 
smcharg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 488
Received 14 Likes on 9 Posts
Default

Mine finally showed up exactly (to the day) 8 months after ordering. Dirk was fantastic through the process and y'all were right....it was worth the wait. Even after seeing pictures and understanding what 2.2 meters means, this jet was still bigger than I thought it was. The paint is beautiful with only a few minor blemishes which I'll be able to buff right out. Can't wait to get going on it. The purple is much more brilliant that it looks in the pictures as well.


The following 3 users liked this post by smcharg:
camss69 (08-26-2020), Dansy (08-26-2020), winter1 (08-26-2020)
Old 08-26-2020, 08:07 AM
  #2566  
MarkF
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 245
Likes: 0
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default

Looks good Scott. I know what you mean about how big it is. I'm doing mine electric and the size is a little intimidating.
The following users liked this post:
smcharg (08-26-2020)
Old 08-26-2020, 09:03 AM
  #2567  
cbk07
My Feedback: (64)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: farmington, CT
Posts: 804
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smcharg View Post
Mine finally showed up exactly (to the day) 8 months after ordering. Dirk was fantastic through the process and y'all were right....it was worth the wait. Even after seeing pictures and understanding what 2.2 meters means, this jet was still bigger than I thought it was. The paint is beautiful with only a few minor blemishes which I'll be able to buff right out. Can't wait to get going on it. The purple is much more brilliant that it looks in the pictures as well.


Looks great! Youíll like it even more when you fly it. Enjoy!!
Old 08-26-2020, 09:04 AM
  #2568  
cbk07
My Feedback: (64)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: farmington, CT
Posts: 804
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by winter1 View Post
Thank you guys.
Yesterday I weighed T1, and adjusted the CG. I'll start at 255mm from the leading edge. Weight with UAT filling + about 1 cm of fuel is less than 14 kg - / 30.68 lb /. ***winter***
Perfect!! It flies perfectly at that CG. Good luck with the maiden
Old 08-28-2020, 09:56 AM
  #2569  
winter1
Senior Member
 
winter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Carlsbad - Czech Republic
Posts: 181
Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Hi guys, as for the expo setting. You have set the expo only in stabilization mode /off/ or even when stabilization / normal on/. I was wondering if the expo setting in stabilization mode / normal on / could not reduce the stabilization efficiency. For example, Jeti recommends not using the expo on its Rx Assist, with stabilization turned on. ***winter***
Old 08-28-2020, 10:01 AM
  #2570  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,618
Received 80 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

I have expo....lower then if I didn’t have a Gyro....the gyro has one rate and on all the time, I have it on a switch in case of gyro trouble....
Old 08-29-2020, 07:28 AM
  #2571  
winter1
Senior Member
 
winter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Carlsbad - Czech Republic
Posts: 181
Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

Hi Daniel, I'm sorry, but I don't understand your answer. You have an expo in all modes, or just in a mode where you fly without a gyro /gyro off/..... ***winter***
Old 08-29-2020, 08:25 AM
  #2572  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,618
Received 80 Likes on 78 Posts
Default

In all modes......just a lot less expo, then if I didn’t install a gyro..
The following users liked this post:
winter1 (08-29-2020)
Old 08-29-2020, 09:03 AM
  #2573  
winter1
Senior Member
 
winter1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Carlsbad - Czech Republic
Posts: 181
Received 25 Likes on 19 Posts
Default

OK....
When you have a moment, please see how much expo rate you have on your radio, when using gyro.
In the afternoon I tested on the ground whether the size of the expo affects the operation of CortexPro. Whether I gave an expo of 0% or 100%, the gyro always had the same efficiency. I didn't measure it, I just checked it with a look. ***winter***
Old 08-29-2020, 09:13 AM
  #2574  
causeitflies
 
causeitflies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: EASTERN OHIO
Posts: 2,327
Likes: 0
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by winter1 View Post
OK....
When you have a moment, please see how much expo rate you have on your radio, when using gyro.
In the afternoon I tested on the ground whether the size of the expo affects the operation of CortexPro. Whether I gave an expo of 0% or 100%, the gyro always had the same efficiency. I didn't measure it, I just checked it with a look. ***winter***
Expo won't have an effect on the gyro.It only affects how the controls (sticks) feel to you.
Old 08-29-2020, 09:27 AM
  #2575  
cbk07
My Feedback: (64)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: farmington, CT
Posts: 804
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Default

My experience is that with the gyro turned on, it feels as though you have more expo than you actually have. For maidens, I set up radio with more expo and gyro off. Once trimmed, I refly with gyro on. It will usually feel a little dead around mid stick. I then start to decrease expo settings until it again feels right to me

My maidens are usually 35-45% expo, gyro off. Once I turn gyro on, I am usually closer to 25% expo....but again it is a all a personal feel thing and varies from plane to plane and radio to radio

Last edited by cbk07; 08-29-2020 at 09:30 AM.
The following 2 users liked this post by cbk07:
Dansy (08-29-2020), winter1 (08-30-2020)

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.