Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Powerbox Core radio and set up thread.

Old 05-23-2019, 03:41 AM
  #101  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,048
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

PowerBox Americas is the importer
https://powerbox-americas.com/

All of their dealer network will be selling them, like Sheldon says, Horizon, AeroPanda, Chief, Dreamworks etc
Old 06-03-2019, 07:40 PM
  #102  
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 720
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

How i should install the Antenna of the receivers.. ?

In futaba.. as I have 4 antennas (2 receivers) I install It in X, Y, Z and repeat one of direction, and in the same receiver with an angle of 90 degree.

What I should do in powerbox? (i will also have 2 receivers each plane)
Old 06-03-2019, 09:04 PM
  #103  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

Same idea as Futaba, but with Core you can set the telemetry to show Rx aerial performance and after the test flight review the performance of the aerial layout. Flying far away, the lowest I see in my Joker is 56%

i have one aerial near vertical, other near horizontal and the second Rx a V with aerials 45 degrees up and down

Old 06-04-2019, 06:02 AM
  #104  
AEROSHELDON
My Feedback: (99)
 
AEROSHELDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Castle Rock CO
Posts: 1,545
Received 81 Likes on 65 Posts
Default

Will the Core have a way to externally save models on a computer ?
Old 06-04-2019, 11:39 PM
  #105  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

PB confirm that the next update allows storage of models on the USB stick and eventually we will all be able to upload and store models on a cloud, then share model set ups...
Old 06-05-2019, 11:04 AM
  #106  
Thruster
 
Thruster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northants, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 95
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

How are people setting timers on the core at the moment - I normally use a switch (18MZ, CD-W) in ALT mode to start/stop just by pressing the button? I dont seem to be able to do that currently on the Core (although uderstand its going to be an option with the new upgrade - which I hope is soon).
Old 06-09-2019, 05:09 AM
  #107  
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 720
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default First fly




First fly with my B17 ..now lets try the Jets...
Old 06-09-2019, 11:46 AM
  #108  
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 720
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Anybody using Vpeak telemtry for Jetcat? can you answer with you can setup a alarm to continue on when the RPM go to zero? i am asking that because sometimes your turbine can blow and the RPM go to zero direct and some telemetry dont alarm when this happening.
Old 06-16-2019, 04:00 PM
  #109  
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 720
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Today i fly with my Viper 2M with powerexpander and 2 - 26D receiver.. can someone share telemetry signal... this is my last fly...
Old 06-16-2019, 04:03 PM
  #110  
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 720
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by heraldoboldrin
Today i fly with my Viper 2M with powerexpander and 2 - 26D receiver.. can someone share telemetry signal... this is my last fly...




Old 06-16-2019, 09:06 PM
  #111  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

Did you do a reset after starting the model. As you get ready to taxi to take off with the model some metres away from Tx.
If you switch on or hold Tx near model during starting/adding canopy you can get low figures because of swamping.
Anyway, figures are all good for a safe flight

Dave
Old 06-17-2019, 04:28 AM
  #112  
heraldoboldrin
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Araras, BRAZIL
Posts: 720
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Default

No.. i didnt reset.. so the idea.. is to reset when you have the model ready to take of.. ?
Old 06-17-2019, 10:40 AM
  #113  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

If the Tx is too close the huge power will cause low figures. So for testing, first few flights reset with the model around 2m away, then fly. But even at figures lower than 40% you have 100% control

Dave
Old 07-17-2019, 04:49 AM
  #114  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

Great news for the US-pilots: The PowerBox CORE has passed the FCC certification!
We can ship the first CORE radios to the USA!
Old 07-18-2019, 07:48 AM
  #115  
Ragz
 
Ragz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nagpur, INDIA
Posts: 2,612
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Im hoping to collect my CORE at jet power
Old 07-18-2019, 11:39 AM
  #116  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

I’ve just hit 12 months of continuous flying with my radio. It’s the future.
Old 07-18-2019, 11:54 PM
  #117  
Blancr
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chipping Norton, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 199
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dave Wilshere
Iíve just hit 12 months of continuous flying with my radio. Itís the future.
...and this coming from the world's most committed JR man is quite something - but I have to agree
Bob
Old 07-19-2019, 05:51 AM
  #118  
Ragz
 
Ragz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nagpur, INDIA
Posts: 2,612
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Default

Someday I would really like to read a direct user comparison with the jeti ds24.
Old 07-19-2019, 06:09 AM
  #119  
bem
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi.
There is a guy that has most of today's high end radios and he said he was going to compare them, but if he would post any (videos) on this he would decide later. I guess he has not yet. But maybe he will do it, lets hope so.
Here is the source for above:
Kanšle oder Funktionen - Seite 9 - CORE Discussion+Feedback - PowerBox-Systems | Support

Now when then CORE will also be sold in US (if got FCC approval few days ago) it will be a broader user base so maybe some experianced Jeti DS24 user/flyer that get also a CORE radio will make a comparison. Lets hope so. On paper so to speak it is possible to make a comparison between the two radios today but it is really more interesting to hear a comparison from someone that has both radios and have used them for a while, both the pros and cons with the radios.

/Bo
Old 07-19-2019, 06:33 AM
  #120  
Blancr
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chipping Norton, , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 199
Received 14 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

I have both radios and would say that it's too early to make a meaningful comparison. We are still waiting for a couple of firmware upgrades for the Core and until they are in any comparison would be meaningless. They are only weeks away I believe.

My early impression is that the Core is much more intuitive and simpler to use but I guess we will all have different perceptions.
Bob
Old 07-20-2019, 03:56 AM
  #121  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,921
Received 146 Likes on 94 Posts
Default Core

One comparison:

The Core uses a further enhanced version of the Weatronic Rf section.

I have well over a thousand turbine flights, in many parts of the world . Plus many others on sailplanes. Almost all have been reviewed on Naview, and the results have been extraordinarily good.

No need for a backup 900 Mhz system with Core on which you can use widgets on the home page to display all RF performance in real time.
Old 07-21-2019, 06:32 AM
  #122  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

Mark Brown is changing his whole fleet to Core, next in the line was his JetCat SPT-10 powered CARF Galloping Ghost.
Finished the set up on the field and test flew it after-perfect again


Old 07-22-2019, 12:10 AM
  #123  
bem
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 1,688
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi,
I know this is a Jet forum but anyway:
Is it any precision aerobatic flyers that use CORE radio that can comment on the CORE sticks and their precision, feel and such? The sticks are really basic very important thing.
I fly F3A myself and use Futaba 14MZ since many years. The stick feel is very important in precision aerobatics, as in any precision flying of course.
I have not seen any F3A flyer yet that use CORE radio, and perhaps that is so because some important features like flight phases is not yet implemented in the CORE software (but will soon). I have heard some comments on the CORE radio, specifically the sticks, from one top F3A flyer but I want to hear more comments on the CORE sticks.

/Bo
Old 07-22-2019, 01:27 AM
  #124  
Dave Wilshere
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Watford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 13,109
Received 736 Likes on 532 Posts
Default

Bo

I'm not flying competition F3a aerobatics with my Core, but I have a CARF pattern plane and I'm very sensitive to the sticks on any radio I fly. JR have been the stick quality leaders for years, the BAT 60 sticks were a joke! Core sticks are superb quality and precision, something way better than your Futaba...

Dave
Old 07-22-2019, 09:56 AM
  #125  
David Gladwin
 
David Gladwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: CookhamBerkshire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 3,921
Received 146 Likes on 94 Posts
Default Core

Just completed an installation, incredibly easy and straightforward. Fly it on Sunday with the Xicoy X 45 in Savex L39.

Stick quality is as good as the highly acclaimed JR 28 units, but ergomically better. That is due to the positioning of the trim buttons so that they are , in effect at the position of thumb radius. Just rotate your thumb about 45 degrees from the stick and the trim lever is right there !

Yes Dave, the BAT 60 sticks are awful, but the electronics and programming is awesome. Some of that can be seen in the Core and its all the better for that.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.