Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

BVM Bobcat Composite rebuild

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

BVM Bobcat Composite rebuild

Old 10-06-2019, 07:44 PM
  #1  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default BVM Bobcat Composite rebuild

A wild ago I got this Bobcat composite with a broken nose. Since then I mostly restored it and started to install the refurbished gears.
Since I don't any reference as where the scribe lines for the front gear door are supposed to be, I would greatly appreciate if a bobcat composite owner could reply with the curved distance value from the nose tip to the edge of the nose wheel gear door opening.
Thank you,
Bruno








Old 11-03-2019, 01:28 PM
  #2  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

More work has been done since my last post.
BVM guys were kind enough to send me the cut out dimensions from the nose tip to the front gear door.


It allowed me to get the gear door cut-out at the proper location so to follow with installing the internal formers.


Old 11-03-2019, 01:43 PM
  #3  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

It probably doesn't need it but I went on and added a piece of G10 over the two nose landing gear plates mounting blocks.



I received my new set of wings mid October, the wrong phenolic tubes were provided and BVM was very kind the send me the correct ones. The trouble now is now about setting the proper incidence for the wings. Since when you buy a complete Bobcat kit, the plywood rings on the forward sleeve are setup in the factory to set the proper wing incidence. When you purchase replacement wings, those rings need to be installed, however there no info as what the wing incidence is in relation to the stab, for example. I just sent an email to BVM, hopping that they will be able to help, but if anyone has some information they could share, I would greatly appreciate!




Last edited by flyingchef; 11-03-2019 at 01:47 PM.
Old 11-06-2019, 06:26 PM
  #4  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,042
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Nice repair!!!
Old 11-15-2019, 03:33 PM
  #5  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am still waiting from BVM to get info on the wings incidence. Meanwhile, I laser cut the new electronics tray which I redesigned to fit the electronics and turbine equipment.
The second picture shows the original BVM tray on top, and the new one on the bottom




Last edited by flyingchef; 11-15-2019 at 03:35 PM.
Old 11-15-2019, 05:02 PM
  #6  
yeahbaby
My Feedback: (21)
 
yeahbaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: FT Worth, TX
Posts: 6,233
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I bet if you set it to fuselage youíll be good to go. Iíll text my buddy Harley in Florida I bet he can find out.
Old 11-15-2019, 07:08 PM
  #7  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

At last resort it's what I will do but I still would prefer to find the actual incidence, beside I'm sure it would not hurt to have the data for when someone will need it in the future!
Old 01-11-2020, 03:03 PM
  #8  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have been working on the jet and taking a moment to post some updates. Thank you also to yeahbaby and Ravill for the support.

The nose gear and gear are done. I was not a fan of the "floating" gear door so I went the hard way and hinged it on the strut. The strut rotate in the door mount and the brass sleeves.









Old 01-11-2020, 04:04 PM
  #9  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

For servos, I installed Savox SV-1270TG on elevator, flaps, and ailerons. As for the rudders, BVM recommended couple SV-1260MG.
I deviated from the manual for the rudder servos installation. Instead, I made a 3D printed mount. The servo slides inside and is locked with the hatch.





Old 01-12-2020, 04:55 PM
  #10  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Designed new turbine mounts then verified the fitting with 3D printed version. I will be machining the final version next weekend.

Original mounts


First prototype: In the manual the noted distance between the turbine bracket holes is 136 mm, in reality I measured 140 mm


Version with 140 mm hole to hole.


Last edited by flyingchef; 01-12-2020 at 04:57 PM.
Old 01-12-2020, 09:24 PM
  #11  
ravill
My Feedback: (11)
 
ravill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Granite Bay, Ca
Posts: 5,042
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

It’s going to be rocket with a 140. You’ll love it!

What a great thread! Thanks for sharing!

Do you have a mill and a lathe?
Old 01-13-2020, 09:38 AM
  #12  
sirrom
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sarasota, FL
Posts: 1,011
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyingchef View Post
I am still waiting from BVM to get info on the wings incidence. Meanwhile, I laser cut the new electronics tray which I redesigned to fit the electronics and turbine equipment.
The second picture shows the original BVM tray on top, and the new one on the bottom


Can you please tell me what software you used to design the board.

Patrick
Old 01-18-2020, 01:12 PM
  #13  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Ravill,
I would not dare putting a 140 on a Bobcat, I have the 120 and will tune it down to 130,000. I also fly at 5280 Ft which reduce the thrust by ~20%
I Have a table top mill from Harbor Freight which I converted to CNC. My lathe is also from HF, it originally a 7X10 but installed the 16" bed.
Sirrom,
I designed the tray in SolidWorks, and Adobe Illustrator for laser cutting.

Glued the wing tubes today with Aeropoxy, I have also installed the flaps and ailerons servos.


Old 01-18-2020, 01:13 PM
  #14  
flyingchef
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (93)
 
flyingchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 597
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Electronics tray setup


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.