Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Rules and reulations for float flying in Massachusetts?

Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Rules and reulations for float flying in Massachusetts?

Old 05-16-2012, 12:29 PM
Devil_Inside
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rules and reulations for float flying in Massachusetts?

Hey guys,

I recently picked up a nice glow-powered seaplane at a local swap meet and I am really anxious to fly it and see what the whole float flying is all about I am an experienced flyer and have flown everything from small 3D foamies to giant-scale gas airplanes, but I am completely new to float flying and I don't know of there are special rules and regulations that I need to adhere to. Since this is not an electric plane it does not exactly fit the criteria of a park flyer so I am pretty sure I can't just randomly pick a lake and start flying, can I?
Old 05-16-2012, 02:04 PM
JimCasey
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Rules and reulations for float flying in Massachusetts?

Local governments may have enacted "no fun allowed" regulations, but probably not, unless you see a sign posted. 

Scope out the site. Spot physical hazards such as wires and trees. Take note of canoe rentals, beaches, other "no-fly" situations. Plan your flight area.
North-facing beaches are great. The sun stays out of your eyes.
Avoid irritating people.  As at your club field, it is completely unacceptable to fly over anyone. 
If you launch your plane while people are fishing in the vicinity it's just plain rude.
Most people are appreciative and curious.  Engage them in conversation. Be a "Nice Guy". They'll be spectators and not complainers.