Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Seaplanes
Reload this Page >

Float set up question

Community
Search
Notices
Seaplanes Aircraft that typically take off and land on water...radio control seaplane discussions are in here.

Float set up question

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2003, 07:53 AM
samsrc
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Float set up question

I'm new to float flying, and I'm about to set up my first set of floats. Now after doing some research through these forums, I've noticed that most people seem to have similar theories on how to set them up. The common theories are that the floats should be about 75-80% of the fuse length, the step should be set on the CG of the plane or are a little aft, the floats should extend about 10-15% forward of the prop, and the incidence of the floats should be set to the same incidence of the wing (or a slight positive incidence of the wing in relation to the float)

This is all great, although the one factor I can't seen to find any info on, is how far apart should the floats be set up?? Is there a rule to this??

Sam
Old 09-26-2003, 02:23 PM
Goinstraightup
My Feedback: (26)

Default RE: Float set up question

Great question Samsrc, Usually you will be attaching your floats to an existing wheel bracket on the plane. What I mean is that your forward gear on your taildragger planes and your rear main gear on your trike planes usually becomes one of your mounts. Then you make the other mount accordingly. For high wing trainers (that have a flat bottom fuse), I like to just make another main gear identical to the rear main gear and mount it right behind the cowl. So to answer your question, the set distance apart that your gear already is, becomes the span between the floats.