Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > Electric RC Helis > T-Rex heli
 Servo arm for a 600E >

Servo arm for a 600E

Notices
T-Rex heli For all you T-Rex lovers out there, this where you can post!

Servo arm for a 600E

Old 10-20-2007, 02:21 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (95)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minto, ND
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo arm for a 600E

I am not finding the spec for the servo arm ball link measurment for a 600 E.
Can anyone tell me how far from center the link should be?
I am using Spectrum DS821 servos, are the standard arms strong enough?

Thank you.
Old 10-20-2007, 02:32 PM
  #2  
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Fitz21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Jacksonville, FL,
Posts: 91
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo arm for a 600E

I used futaba servos. followed guidelines on page 19 and 20 of the manual. Since the servo arms are pull-pull setups, it took quite a bit of adjusting to get the servo buzz under control especially the fwd/aft cyclic.
All i could really do was ensure the servo linkages were as parallel as possible, then adjust linkages to stop the buzzing. It was a pain in the @#*$*%&.
Maybe someone else has a better way. good luck.
Old 10-20-2007, 08:01 PM
  #3  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,074
Received 361 Likes on 290 Posts
Default RE: Servo arm for a 600E

No way I'd use those servos on a 50.
Old 10-20-2007, 09:13 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
RussWisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Minocqua, WI
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo arm for a 600E

read some treads on the DS821s ... they will brake their output gear shaft to the servo horn . I am putting Futaba s9451s in my 600CF
Old 10-21-2007, 07:19 AM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kannapolis, NC
Posts: 153
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo arm for a 600E

Something else I set mine up so that all measurements are equal and level. So that ball are adjusted in or out on the arm to insure they are level with the ball on the control arm. Also as stated earlier adjust to eliminate any binding between linkages. If one is just a little bit longer or shorter it will "buzz"
Old 10-21-2007, 12:31 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (95)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Minto, ND
Posts: 43
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Servo arm for a 600E

What servos would you recommend? I am not into heavy 3D, just sport flying.
These DS 821 servos have a fairly high torqe rating, are they weak in the geartrain?

What about the measurment for the balllink from center? Should that be the same as the bellcrank?
Old 10-22-2007, 03:22 PM
  #7  
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,074
Received 361 Likes on 290 Posts
Default RE: Servo arm for a 600E

They have been failing frequently, the output shaft shears off the top and the amp dies. They seem prone to vibration and according to JR are ok for a 50 size electric. Personally I wouldn't put them in anything that costs more than the servos themselves. The one I saw let go was on a 40 size airplane with 1 servo on each wing, not over powered and not set up for 3d. I just dont think its worth the risk on a heli that size.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.