Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Tachometer Readings
Reload this Page >

Engine won't run with throttle barrel fully open.

Notices
Tachometer Readings Post your tachometer readings for your motor in here or ask others what they are getting out of their motor/prop combos!

Engine won't run with throttle barrel fully open.

Old 10-31-2002, 06:31 PM
  #1  
topwinguk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Yeovil, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine won't run with throttle barrel fully open.

I am having problems with an OS 10 LA which will not run with the throttle barrel fully open even though I am using pressue feed. If I blank the muffler outlet intermitantly with my finger the revs pickup. Obviously there is not enough suck or the pressure is not sufficient. Any ideas guys?
Old 10-31-2002, 08:08 PM
  #2  
rcflier_gi
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Grand Island, NY
Posts: 464
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine won't run with throttle barrel fully open.

Is the location of the fuel tank too low? Also check for pinched fuel lines or holes in the fuel line.
Old 11-03-2002, 04:09 AM
  #3  
sparky925
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: huntsville, AL
Posts: 280
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default .10 la

might have a look at the fuel nipple entering carb or needle valve area

drawing air perhaps..
Just a thought..
Tony
Old 11-03-2002, 06:46 AM
  #4  
canadagoose
My Feedback: (2)
 
canadagoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: sparwood, BC, CANADA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine won't run with throttle barrel fully open.

Usually when an engine quits when opening the throttle barrel,
the low speed needle needs to be screwed out more. I know some of the smaller engines don't have them. Maybe the carbs leaking in air somewhere making the mixture too lean.
Hope you find the problem.
Old 11-03-2002, 07:02 AM
  #5  
AQ500
Senior Member
 
AQ500's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Sandy, UT
Posts: 692
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine won't run with throttle barrel fully open.

There's no low speed needle on the LA, just an air bleed. You are not getting enough fuel somehow. Sounds like a leak or a pinched line. It could also be from a really low tank as mentioned above or excessive fuel line length. Also check all of the screws on the motor and make sure they are tight. Those plastic fuel nipples really don't seal well and can cause problems. Try some small hose clamps. Where is your needle set?

I've purchased 2 LA's and they will be my last LA's ever. I love the old FP's.
Old 11-04-2002, 07:10 AM
  #6  
topwinguk
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Yeovil, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine won't run with throttle barrel fully open.

Thanks for the info guys, will try all those suggestions. As AQ500 says, I also won't be buying any more LA's. Do you reckon that with the needle valve remote from the carb there is less suck?

Tony

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.