Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Tips & Techniques
Reload this Page >

So, you can’t see the lights?

Notices
Tips & Techniques Want to share a tip or special technique you have either in the workshop or at the flying field or race track? Post it right here!

So, you can’t see the lights?

Old 02-24-2010, 10:45 PM
  #1  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So, you can’t see the lights?

By that, I mean the leds on the Spektrum receivers. I don’t know about anyone else, but I can’t possibly mount my main and satellite receivers in such a way as to be able to be seen from the outside of the aircraft. Especially, on an aircraft without a clear canopy, like my recently resurrected NexSTAR which I have renamed WaveSTAR. But, that’s another story.

Anyway, I was trying to come up with a way to see the leds, when I powered on the plane, and also when I retrieve it, to verify there were no “brown-outs”. Since the insides are completely not visible when flight ready, I thought of the idea some guys are using for flying lights, Fiber Optic Cable. After all the positive response I received after I showed off my idea at a club meeting, I decided to share it with everyone. So here goes…

For my example I’m using a Spektrum AR7000, which by no means is the only possible setup this might work with.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca80762.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	1386225  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:46 PM
  #2  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

The yellow circle on the main receiver…
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Yw68734.jpg
Views:	30
Size:	57.0 KB
ID:	1386226  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:47 PM
  #3  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

and the satellite receiver…
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94126.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	56.5 KB
ID:	1386227  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:49 PM
  #4  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

shows the location of the led.
I used a small finger tip drill, to be as accurate as possible. And, to keep from running into the led, on the circuit board below.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us54657.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	39.2 KB
ID:	1386228   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ql32962.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	37.7 KB
ID:	1386229  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:50 PM
  #5  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

As you might expect, this operation is completely at your own risk. And, would probably void any warranty. So, don’t attempt it, unless you’re prepared to pay the price.

I used a drill size that would allow a relatively snug fit for the fiber cable. I used 1mm cable, that I picked up off Ebay, cheap.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30303.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	50.7 KB
ID:	1386230  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:51 PM
  #6  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

Also, I put a dab of canopy glue at the point where the cable entered the receiver’s plastic shell. Depending on the location of each receiver, use enough cable to keep bend radii to a wide sweep and avoid kinks.

With my main rx mounted on one side of the fuse…
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ec88093.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	73.3 KB
ID:	1386231  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:52 PM
  #7  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

and the satellite rx on the other…
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh14915.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	1386232  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:53 PM
  #8  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

the cable has an opportunity to make wide turns before exiting the side of the fuse.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94833.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	1386233  
Old 02-24-2010, 10:55 PM
  #9  
N429EM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
N429EM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

The cable ends are flush with the fuse, and, again, I used a couple drops of canopy glue to keep the cables in place.
Even in the brightly lit meeting room, the club members in the back of the room could still see the lighted cable end. Up close, outside, there’s no problem seeing the light. Now, after checking for any abnormal lights, I can safely turn off the switch, knowing all was well on that flight.


Remember: You are making changes to a piece of equipment that is not sanctioned by the manufacturer, and will probably void the warranty. Attempting this operation, is at your own risk. I cannot be responsible for your ability to complete the operation safely.

However, if you do try it, let us know how yours goes. Mine works fine.

Good luck,
EJ
Old 02-25-2010, 01:46 AM
  #10  
Bundubasher
Senior Member
 
Bundubasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape L\'\'\'\'\'\'\'\'Agulhas, SOUTH AFRICA
Posts: 687
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: So, you can’t see the lights?

Maybe an idea for JR/Spektrum to factory fit these optic cables. I guess one don't need to cut it shorter, just loop it in the fuse... just a thought.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.