Notices
YS Engines Support Direct support from YS Performance Engines by Dave Shadel

ys 110 break in

Old 04-08-2006, 01:03 PM
  #1  
bigtroutdog
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ys 110 break in

For break in, the manual says to run rich for 20 minutes. At what rpm? How rich?
Thanks
Mike
Old 04-08-2006, 01:13 PM
  #2  
Dave Shadel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 5,385
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

Put a 15x8 APC on it and run it as rich as it will run and not die when you remove the glow driver. About 2 turns open on the HS needle should be a good start. I personally would put at least an hour running on the bench before I put it in an airplane. That's 12 five minute runs with cool down in between each one. When you're finished with that, pop the valve cover off and set both valves at .003".

Go to www.ysperformance.com and set up the engine per the instructions after it's broken in.
Old 04-09-2006, 02:35 AM
  #3  
bigtroutdog
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

What about rpm? I'm assuming you mean full throttle for five minutes?
Mike
Old 04-09-2006, 08:55 AM
  #4  
Dave Shadel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 5,385
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

Full throttle. With a 15x8 and at the setting I have suggested, it will run around 9000 plus or minus.
Old 04-11-2006, 06:58 PM
  #5  
buenger_2000
Member
 
buenger_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

Hey guys, got a quick question. I'm breaking in my 110. (what a great engine) Running it is not the problem. My question is about filling the fuel tank. I have a quick fuel going into the 3rd line into the tank. I blocked off the carb line so it just fuels the tank. I am actually pressurizing the tank doing this and it won't fill properly. Can I put a T connection by the pump outlet and have the rubber tube from that dangling underneath the cowl with a plug to unplug while I fill? Will the pressurization from the motor blow the plug out? thanks in advance

James
Old 04-11-2006, 08:02 PM
  #6  
Dave Shadel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 5,385
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

Take the fueling valve out of the system, NOW! They will develop leaks and cause you nothing but problems.

Use T fittings and fuel dots. One between the filter and the tank on fuel side, one between the check valve and the tank on the pressure side. Pull the plugs and fill thru the fuel side, the pressure side becomes the overflow. Simple.
Old 04-11-2006, 10:24 PM
  #7  
Endor
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: La Mirada, CA
Posts: 88
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

So I guess I wasn't the only one to do this with my first YS.... "Jeez, why is my pump getting so hard to turn...." [:@]

buenger_2000, how I do it... 3 lines to the tank: one for fuel to the engine (through a fuel filter), one for vent (through the check valve), and one for filling.

Run the fill line out someplace and cap it off with a fuel dot. I use the Dubro Fill It fuel system [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXAHE1&P=7]http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXAHE1&P=7[/link], since they're cheap and easy to find. Don't use a fuel valve as Dave says, as the tank pressurizes quite a bit.

Run the fuel feed line to the front nipple on the engine, making sure to put a fuel filter in there somewhere.

Run the pressure line from the engine through the check valve (arrow pointing towards tank), then to a fuel tee, then to the tank vent line. Attach another length of tubing to the tee and run that out your cowling to another one of those Dubro Fill It systems. Cap it off.

When you're ready to fill, uncap the pressure line first and relieve the tank pressure, then uncap the fill line and fuel away. You'll need both of them open to fuel, otherwise the air in the tank has nowhere to go. If you do this backwards after a flight, you'll be amazed at how far that fuel squirts.

I also make it a habit to open the vent dot after a flight to relieve the pressure from the tank when I return to the pits.

Hope this helps?

Old 04-11-2006, 10:36 PM
  #8  
buenger_2000
Member
 
buenger_2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Appleton, WI
Posts: 58
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

You guys are great. Thanks so much for the info since this is my first pressurized system. What a great engine this YS is. I've almost have a gallon through it on the ground. Ran it rich...2 turns. I wish all brands of engines ran this great...but then again there wouldn't be such great engines like YS. THANKS AGAIN GUYS!!!



P.S. >>>>> THE FUEL DOES SHOOT FAR!!! WOW
Old 04-21-2006, 01:59 PM
  #9  
bigtroutdog
Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 65
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

Dave,
I Broke in engine as your instructions. It is tuned per instructions (YS webpage) Good transition, slightly rich setting, After one gallon of Power master 20/20. 8800 with 15-8 Zinger 8500 with 16-6 Zinger Pro. Seems a little low to me.
Mike
Old 04-25-2006, 09:22 AM
  #10  
Dave Shadel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 5,385
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

I don't know what's going on with this site. I answered all these questions yesterday, ans you responded to my last post for this one.
Old 04-25-2006, 10:11 AM
  #11  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,396
Received 25 Likes on 23 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

Dave,

FYI;

I saw a post from the site administrator on another thread about lost entries, it said they'd had a bad server crash and had to restore the system from a backup but lost about 15 hrs. worth of posts. He said they would try to recover the posts but didn't have much hope for that and apologized for the inconvenience. He also indicated they'd be going to better hardware and about a three hour backup scheme sometime next week trying to prevent a recurrence of the problem.
Old 04-25-2006, 11:20 AM
  #12  
Dave Shadel
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Gardnerville, NV
Posts: 5,385
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: ys 110 break in

Thanks, guess I will wait until everyone yells at me for not answering to see if they got answers.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.