Notices
Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

gas fuel with glo plug no ignition

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2003, 09:46 PM
aero nut

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default gas fuel with glo plug no ignition

Hi fellow converts, I am new to the conversion addiction, and after a few conversions I tried a gas engine with a glow plug and gasoline with 50:50 oil ratio (synthetic oil) the engine is a weedeater 18 cc and the ignition was removed, but first I runned the engine with the regular magnet ignition and it turned 7500 rpm's with a 15-8 master airscrew prop,
then I ran the same engine with a glow plug adapter and without the magnetic ignition, the glow plug was kept hot with two 1800 mah metal hidride batteries and the reading on the tach said 7450 rpm's; we then removed the battery while it was running and the rpm's droped about 700 rpm's.
Questions:
Has anybody tryed this configuration.
Perhaps we can use something to make the gasoline a little bit hotter and keep the glow plug burning better.
Any Ideas or input on the matter.
Old 11-10-2003, 10:10 PM
mdavies31

Default RE: gas fuel with glo plug no ignition

You say 50:50 oil ratio, do you mean 50 to 1 gas to oil or 1 to 1 gas to oil?
If it is 1 to 1 that is way to much oil. 50 to 1 is good.
What glow plug are you using, is there a hotter one? Is the adapter getting the plug into the engine as far as the spark plug went?
Could you use a on board glow driver with a small, light weight battery that only is on at full throttle?
Old 11-10-2003, 11:47 PM
aero nut

you are right the oil content is a 50:1 ratio; The adapter for the plug was made out of a spark plug to which al the ceramic and electrode was removed then it was tapped with a glow plug tap(1/4, 32) and the plug just comes flush with the bottom of the adapter; the plug we used at the moment was a hobby people's thunderbolt # 3 plug which has a heavier coil, maybe a std rc plug will work better?.