Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > 3D Electric Flying!
Reload this Page >

New pilot needs advice.

Community
Search
Notices
3D Electric Flying! Discuss all aspects of Electric 3D RC flying here!

New pilot needs advice.

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2006, 01:29 PM
esc

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New pilot needs advice.

Hi, I am just returning to RC model aircraft after a lay off of some 20 years. I have been practicing hard on Real Flight G3 to re-hone my rusty skills prior to flying my first 3D plane, which will be a 3-D Buddy Cap 232.

On and off I have been a modeler for 46 years. I went through the early days of valves & rubber driven escapements, reeds, galloping ghost and finally into using modern FM equipment. I have experience of boats and have competed for 10 years with model cars, both electric and IC. My real love are planes. The more agile the better!

Assuming that I don't come too badly unstuck with this first plane I am looking forward to trying several others. One I am particularly interested in is the Hyperion Yak 55SP 10e. Does anyone have any experience of this model flying 3D aerobatics? I would value your opinion.

Going back to the 3-D buddy, I have opted for the Atpro 20-22L 4200 motor the retailer suggests along with his 4.46:1 gearbox. However, I was wondering if anyone has tried any other in-runner or out-runner motors on this airframe with success?

I couldn't find anyone selling Li-Po batteries that matched the manufacturer's specs, so I went for Thunder Power 1320mAh 11.1v 13C packs at 82grams. I hope these will be OK?

Thanks for your help.

Regards,

Dave

Old 09-02-2006, 07:15 PM
Jack Hyde
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: New pilot needs advice.