Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

DP 300L

Old 12-10-2004, 11:23 PM
  #1  
STG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
STG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Richmond, WI
Posts: 3,518
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DP 300L

Anyone have one of these? How much does it weigh compared to the DP EDGE 540? I am thinking set it up with a YS140 or O.S. 1.6.
Old 12-11-2004, 12:05 AM
  #2  
Swat Cop
My Feedback: (11)
 
Swat Cop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I think they weigh about the same. I have the DP Edge 540, I started out with a Moki 2.10 then switched to a ZDZ 50 which I like a lot better. The Edge weighs 15 pounds dry with the ZDZ 50 and Sullivan Smoke. It weighed a little more with the Moki but still pretty close. The plane flys great though.
Old 12-11-2004, 12:40 AM
  #3  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DP 300L

Either one is a great ARF. The Edge would have the advantage in 3D mode. I am putting an Edge together right now. I'd prefer the YS140 is it has the same or equal power as the OS 160. Also with the YS you can mount the fuel tank on the CG.

Swap Cop, I never imagined that a Moki 2.10 could weigh more than a 50cc gas engine. My Moki 2.10 weighs 46 ounces bare and the ZDZ 50 is 50 ounces bare with plug according to RC showcase's website. Then you add igniton and battery and you have to be around 55-60 ounces right?

ORIGINAL: GPSpacewalker

Anyone have one of these? How much does it weigh compared to the DP EDGE 540? I am thinking set it up with a YS140 or O.S. 1.6.
Old 12-11-2004, 01:38 AM
  #4  
Swat Cop
My Feedback: (11)
 
Swat Cop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I had my Moki mounted inverted to avoid chopping a big hole in the side of that pretty cowl. I also had the wrap arpund pitts muffler, an aluminum Truturn spinner, beam mounts, onboard glow driver and Perry Pump. When I put the ZDZ 50 on the plane I used a carbon fiber spinner that saved some weight but to my surprise when I balanced the plane with the new ZDZ on it, the plane was actually tail heavy. I had to move the ignition battery to get it to balance where it was with the Moki. The ZDZ has a lot more power and carries a lot less weight in fuel.
Old 12-11-2004, 10:00 AM
  #5  
Ryan Nau
My Feedback: (54)
 
Ryan Nau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamstown, PA
Posts: 611
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

A YS 140 or OS1.6 I think will work OK in the DP Extra or Edge, but the vertical will be limited and it won't have enough power to do much 3D. They really kind of need a 2.10 or 50CC. I have a DA 50 in mine, 24x8 prop. It has unlimited vertical, plenty of power to 3d, and flies very well with it. The YS140 or OS 1.6 will work, just you won't have the power to do more things with it. There are alot of information already about these planes if you do a search.
Ryan
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx70277.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	201653   Click image for larger version

Name:	Av69249.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	201654  
Old 12-11-2004, 11:18 AM
  #6  
Columbo
My Feedback: (9)
 
Columbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Norman, OK
Posts: 708
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I have a moki 2.10 on mine, and it weighs a little over 14 lbs dry. 3Ds very well in light wind
conditions.

Greg
Old 12-11-2004, 11:58 AM
  #7  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DP 300L

Did you guys go with 2 servos per aileron, 4 total? If so how did you connect it to the receiver? Via Matchbox? DP says to go with 2 servos per aileron to avoid flutter.
Old 12-11-2004, 12:30 PM
  #8  
Swat Cop
My Feedback: (11)
 
Swat Cop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I went with two servos per aileron and sealed all the hinge gaps top and bottom with pearl yellow Ultracote. I just used a Y harness on each wing, no problems with this setup and I have been flying mine over a year. I also mounted two elevator servos in the tail.
Old 12-11-2004, 12:40 PM
  #9  
STG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
STG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Richmond, WI
Posts: 3,518
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

They have the new Extra that is supposed to be lighter...but they do not say how much. They give notes on the 540 saying with the 1.4 it should come in at 12.5 pounds. I would fly great for me at this weight as I am at sea level. Does this plane have removable tail stab? I want to fit it into my 2002 Bonneville. I actually prefer the 540, but if the new Extra really is less weight I would probably go that.
Old 12-11-2004, 12:45 PM
  #10  
FlyHard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Nassau, NY
Posts: 302
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I had the DP Extra first I flew it with a OS 160FX. It flew alright but the 160 winds up so slow that 3D was out. I then tried a YS 140DZ, with it's instant response the plane was great. If I did it again I would most likely use a Moki 2.1. 50 cc gas would be fine but my wife hates the smell. A small concession for all her support.
Old 12-11-2004, 04:15 PM
  #11  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DP 300L

Did you use two channels or plug all four ailerons into one?

ORIGINAL: Swat Cop

I went with two servos per aileron and sealed all the hinge gaps top and bottom with pearl yellow Ultracote. I just used a Y harness on each wing, no problems with this setup and I have been flying mine over a year. I also mounted two elevator servos in the tail.
Old 12-11-2004, 04:21 PM
  #12  
Swat Cop
My Feedback: (11)
 
Swat Cop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I used two channels.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ay75795.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	54.7 KB
ID:	201749   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ie98142.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	59.0 KB
ID:	201750   Click image for larger version

Name:	Rw57567.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	60.2 KB
ID:	201751  
Old 12-11-2004, 04:43 PM
  #13  
Ryan Nau
My Feedback: (54)
 
Ryan Nau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Williamstown, PA
Posts: 611
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I only use one servo per aileron, and not even digital, just high torq. They have 168 oz of torq each. No problems at all so far with probably about 200 flights so far on it. I use 133oz servos on the elevators, one per half. And a PCM futaba reciever with ailerons plugged into channel 1 and 6. Yes the stab and elevators is removable on these planes.
The only think I don't like about the airplane is the canopy. Its weak, it should have a frame to it. And everytime you put it together you have to put 10 screws into it to hold the canopy on. It should have a frame to the canopy, it would be a lot easier and nice with only 2 screws then and stronger.
Ryan
Old 12-11-2004, 05:15 PM
  #14  
Swat Cop
My Feedback: (11)
 
Swat Cop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I think the new ones have a top hatch like the Edge if I am not mistaken.

My Edge might be fine with two servos verses four but I read several of the threads on the Edge and Extra and there have been quite a few to include one at our club that blew the ailerons right off the plane at low speed with flutter. I didn't want to take any chances so I went with four. I have thought about taking two off to lighten the weight and to see how it would do but then why risk it the plane flys great now the way it is.
Old 12-11-2004, 08:33 PM
  #15  
STG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
STG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Richmond, WI
Posts: 3,518
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

O.K. I should have been more specific. They have just or are about to come out with the 300L in a lazer cut version...

http://www.davepatrickmodels.com/dpm.../extra300L.pdf


"This is the 1.20 aerobat that flies like those 40% T.O.C. types. We know, we have competed at 5 T.O.C.’s!
Another First from DPM! The EXTRA 330L is converting to LASER cut parts. While slower and more expensive to manufacture, it results in a stronger, lighter and more precise aircraft. There will be no increase in price!!"

They are now showing a weight of 11 to 12 pounds with the YS1.4 ---was 13 to 14.5 poundsbefore lazer cut.

If it did come in at 12 pounds it would fly awesome here for me at sea level with either the YS1.4 or the OS1.6----The 1.6 would be cheaper to operate as I can run 5%--it would increase the weight about another 1/2 pound(pump & pitts muffler). Anyone know how the 1.4 does on 15%?
Old 12-12-2004, 08:37 PM
  #16  
RNick
 
RNick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Galion, OH
Posts: 276
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

The laser cut 330 came out 2 years ago. I have one I got 2 years ago. It weighs 14 1/2# with moki 210 and CF landing gear and one servo per aileron. I cut the covering off the bottom of the ailerons and put a balsa stick X in each lightening hole to stiffen. Have about 150 flights on it. If I had it to do over I would put a DA50 on it. An OS160 would be NO good for 3D.

Randy
Old 12-12-2004, 09:35 PM
  #17  
STG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
STG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Richmond, WI
Posts: 3,518
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

Thanks. Dave Brown makes it look like this is something new for them--2 years already? Is the EDGE laser cut as well? They do not recommend anything larger than a YS1.4 on the 300L but say a 35cc is fine for the edge. This does not make any sense?
Old 12-12-2004, 10:49 PM
  #18  
Swat Cop
My Feedback: (11)
 
Swat Cop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 910
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

The Edge and Extra are both laser cut. Dave Patrick WAAAY under estimates engines for his planes, I think for warranty purposes. That way if you over power the plane and it blows apart its on you. If you use common sense and proper throttle management its not an issue. I have been flying my Edge for over a year with engines larger than what is recommended with no problems what so ever.
Old 12-13-2004, 12:51 PM
  #19  
STG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
STG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Richmond, WI
Posts: 3,518
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

Well I called Dave Patrick so I could hear it strait from them and they were very honest with me.

They said:
1)All planes they have are now laser cut.
2)The edge weighs slightly less than the extra
3)For good 3D they recommend at least a 1.8 2 cycle glow--
4)All up weight with a 1.8 2 cycle glow will be around 14 pounds

I guess they just told me what you guys were saying all along.

If you are looking at their web sight for the first time and read what they have..... "!The EXTRA 330L is converting to LASER cut parts. While slower and more expensive to manufacture, it results in a stronger, lighter and more precise aircraft. There will be no increase in price"

And then see a new weight that they have for the extra...11 to 12 pounds with 1.4 it looks as if they really have something new....

Before getting the 68" Extreme Flight YAK I would have never thought it possible (that would weigh 9.2 pounds with the 1.4) but now think a 1200 square inch scale plane coming in at 12 pounds with a YS 1.4 can be done.

I am just looking for the biggest flying scale bird that I can still transport to the Field in my car. So far it is the 68" yak.
Old 12-13-2004, 02:13 PM
  #20  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DP 300L

I know what you mean. I bought the Edge 540T 26% and I still have no idea if it will fit in Honda Accord. It will be tight. I'm thinking of buying a trailor this spring.

ORIGINAL: GPSpacewalker

I am just looking for the biggest flying scale bird that I can still transport to the Field in my car. So far it is the 68" yak.
Old 12-13-2004, 04:09 PM
  #21  
STG
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (26)
 
STG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New Richmond, WI
Posts: 3,518
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

JoeAirPort are you going with the YS1.4 for sure??? I think you should lay out another $200 and get the new 1.6YS. It is fun to spend other peoples money.
Old 12-13-2004, 09:54 PM
  #22  
lcgj
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gj, CO
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

You guys need to listen to what people tell you about the DP planes.It well help you in the long run.if you whant 3D you need at lest a 2.10. I had a 1.8 and it flew well but not evan close for 3D so I put some real power on it DA 50. the YS 1.4 well work good for flying around but you well not get the real power from it. you well never notice the wight of 2 sevos per aileron. DP s web site is out dated.
Old 12-13-2004, 09:57 PM
  #23  
lcgj
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: gj, CO
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

If you whant to see some video of the 300L go www.3dbatix.com.
Old 12-13-2004, 10:16 PM
  #24  
JoeAirPort
My Feedback: (41)
 
JoeAirPort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 10,259
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: DP 300L

I never said I was going with the YS1.4. I bought a Moki 2.10 and will run a Perry pump with it.

ORIGINAL: GPSpacewalker

JoeAirPort are you going with the YS1.4 for sure??? I think you should lay out another $200 and get the new 1.6YS. It is fun to spend other peoples money.
Old 01-02-2005, 02:10 AM
  #25  
Bat Fastard
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Manakin-Sabot, VA
Posts: 244
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DP 300L

I have the edge and i power it with an os 160 with a perry pump and a jett in cowl muffler, it weighs 12.6#. I can't understand how some of you guys think that it wont 3-d well, with this motor and a mejzlik 18-8 prop, I can do anything I want as far as 3-d goes. I think there are a lot of people trying to under prop their os 160's with a 18-6 or something like that. This motor doesnt like to be turned to 9+k it likes to be operated around 8500. That is why I run an 18-8 and I can hover at 3/4 throttle with plenty of power for pull out. The plane flys like a trainer at that weight and is the easiest flying plane i own. The only thing I can say is with enough practice one does'nt need 2 to 1 or 3 to 1 power to weight to perform 3-d maneuvers, just practice. This is a very nice flying plane with a lightweight power plant and one that doesnt need to be over powered to fly well if your budget doesnt allow. Someone please correct me if im wrong (i have'nt owned the extra ) I just dont understand why everyone wants to use so much motor for such a light plane. Jamie

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.