Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > 3D Flying!
Reload this Page >

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Notices
3D Flying! Our 3D flying forum is the ultimate resource for 3D flyers. Also discuss the latest in "4D" flying!

U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Old 03-22-2005, 10:27 PM
  #1501  
kokamo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
kokamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Posts: 181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

CeeGee...hey, I was reading one of your older posts page 47 or 48?? You said you didn't use a reveser for one of your elevator servos so you put the rod on the other side of the surface? Did you ever end up finding a reverser or does it work good the way it is?

I was just wondering. I reversed my brand new hitec servo and it seems to work fine that way.

Let me know if you need the info on how to do it!

THANKS!

Joe
Old 03-22-2005, 11:48 PM
  #1502  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Kokamo, I works just fine so far. I'm going to be changing my set up later this week to carbon fiber so I'll look into it more then and see if it still works out for me. Rob
Old 03-23-2005, 05:03 AM
  #1503  
perkinsm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Chester, WV,
Posts: 220
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

GUYS - You can get "Wing Seating Tape" at the website I pasted below. The guy has some other good stuff too.

I built the website and have seen his stuff first hand. Nice, high quality products.

I think I'll be putting his Tailwheel assembly's on all of my planes too.

http://ohiosuperstar.com/
Old 03-23-2005, 07:25 AM
  #1504  
goldenclan
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: olathe, KS
Posts: 121
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Weather has been bad, lots of wind and rain. Still have not heard any thing from greatplanes. I think that I will give them a call today. Going to try to get out and fly today or tomorrow. I should be getting the stuff for my other two projects today some time. Has any one else used the futaba 7 cap? I am really excited to try it. Some of the features are just awsome. Will give a report about it after flying with it. I did put some tail wires on the ucando and the carbon fiber push rods on the ele and aeil. We will see what happens.
Old 03-23-2005, 10:54 AM
  #1505  
kokamo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
kokamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Posts: 181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Well.....here it is. About done. All it needs is the RX, canopy, and a good ballance point for a sport beginner pilot like myself and she be flyin'. Here are a couple of pics I took of her last night. BOY I'M EXCITED!!!!!


Joe
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Qn38132.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	39.6 KB
ID:	247896   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xt59951.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	43.6 KB
ID:	247897   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pu51710.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	56.7 KB
ID:	247898  
Old 03-23-2005, 11:11 AM
  #1506  
runover1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
runover1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 663
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I am waiting to put my canopy on for my voltwatch. It was supposed to be here 4 weeks ago. I bought them from a store in HongKong.
Old 03-23-2005, 11:36 AM
  #1507  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Great work Kokamo. I like they way you used that gear for a knob. Looks awesome.
Old 03-23-2005, 01:51 PM
  #1508  
kokamo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
kokamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Posts: 181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Runover.....You could have prolly went to Hong Kong, bought your voltwatch and could have been back by now. Lol....you prolly could have hitch hiked there and back by now!!!

Anyways...you going to put the voltwatch in the canopy? Thats exactly what I'm going to do. I put mine on with screws so I could change out pilots if I ever wanted to. I show pics in a little while.

CeeGee....the gear is off of my corona helicopter. It is the tail shaft gear that turns the tail rotor. I got another one in a crash kit I ordered. I don't fly it anymore and I have this one as a spare. It works in a jiffy and it dosen't look bad either.

Thanks for compiments......I'm tryin' hard to do it right this time.
Joe
Old 03-23-2005, 03:49 PM
  #1509  
Fred Dings II
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hey, kokamo, I'm curious. What size servo? You would have had to get right to the motor connections. I don't use HiTec.

Regards, FRED
Old 03-23-2005, 04:05 PM
  #1510  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Kokamo, Just wondering what spinner you are using? Rob
Old 03-23-2005, 05:45 PM
  #1511  
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

looks great Kokomo, but lets get that muffler shined up as bright as that spinner!!!! mothers aluminum polish and some fine steel wool.
Old 03-23-2005, 07:28 PM
  #1512  
Nas19320
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: West Chester, PA
Posts: 113
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

How did you guys run your RX antenna? I'm trying to figure out a good way to do this. Thanks.
Old 03-23-2005, 07:56 PM
  #1513  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I just drill a small hole, right about mid ship, in the bottom of the fuse. Sorta right under the canopy area. I thread the anteana through the hole and extend it towards the tail. I take a small piece of a servo are and thread it through that and let it come up against the inside of the fuse so it doesn't put pressure on the receiver where the wire enters. I do the same thing on the other end and use a rubber band around the end one and then loop it around the tail wheel. Makes a clean installation and it's hidden pretty well. The only drawback is the receiver won't pick up and of the radio commands.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 03-23-2005, 08:07 PM
  #1514  
kokamo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
kokamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Posts: 181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Fred Dings, II..... I am sorry, I cannot help you on reversing another brand of servo. All I know how to reverse is the Hitec brand servo. The size servo is a Hitec HS-625 on the elevators and ailerons and the rudder I have a Hitec HS-5645-MG. If you go [link=http://www.hitecrcd.com/product_fs.htm]to this link,[/link] click on servos on the top of the screen and then click on servo faqs. It will then open another window and you woll need to click on General Servo Questions. From there you can find out how to reverse a hitec anolog servo. Or.......you might go to the website of your brand servo and they might be able to tell you how to do it yourself. HOPE THAT HELPS!!!

CeeGee....to tell you the truth...I don't know what it is by brand. It looks to be an older one. All I know is it is a quarter of an inch bigger than the one supplied by Great planes. I got it from a freind. He felt sorry for me because I spent all my $$$$$ on my engine, plane, servos, RX, du-bro ball links and 4-40 threadded rods. I didn't have enough for a new spinner because my original one (supplied with the kit) would not accept a 14x4 Zinger prop. So he gave me his. Only because it was the only thing I needed to fly.

gjeffers.....I had a weird dream last night.....I was talking to sombody and we ended up talking about some dude named "Jeffers".....weird uh??? ANYWAY......I will get on it sir!!! I thought about that today while I was cleaning all my fingerprints off with windex. I think i'll do that tonight.

THANKS FOR THE COMMENTS!!!

Joe
Old 03-23-2005, 08:18 PM
  #1515  
Fred Dings II
My Feedback: (2)
 
Fred Dings II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 209
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Joe: Thanks for the information. Very useful. I have been using mostly Futaba and Hobbico servos.

regards, FRED
Old 03-23-2005, 08:40 PM
  #1516  
hockeyrules99
Senior Member
My Feedback: (7)
 
hockeyrules99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Topeka, KS
Posts: 185
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

check out this vid

http://www.airplanecards.com/albums/...te_voltige.wmv
Old 03-23-2005, 08:58 PM
  #1517  
gjeffers
 
gjeffers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Round Mountain , NV
Posts: 2,307
Likes: 0
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

thanks hockey, all should see that, start a new thread, it is great!
Old 03-23-2005, 10:05 PM
  #1518  
runover1
Senior Member
My Feedback: (10)
 
runover1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 663
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Man Hockey, That video rocks. Heck, there were moves there I wouldn't do with my rc plane, let alone a real one. Thank you for that incredible vid.
Old 03-23-2005, 11:01 PM
  #1519  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Hockey, Wow!!!!! That is something. Just another day at the office.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 03-23-2005, 11:33 PM
  #1520  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Awesome video Hockey. Thanks
Old 03-24-2005, 12:20 AM
  #1521  
kokamo
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
kokamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Liberty Hill, TX
Posts: 181
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Ok IT'S DONE!!!!!!!!!! YIPPIEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!! Dang, i'm excited......but kinda bummed out at the same time. Today was my day off and I had a chance to finish her off. It's ready to go now and I won't see a day off from work until Sunday. I hear that there will be a cold front with some rain. So with any cold front, you most likley will see wind. So I guess that gives me more time to go over everything three or four times. Here are some pics.

FRED, No problem on the info. I hope you get it fixed up the way you need it.

OH, gjeffers. I GOT THAT MUFFLER DONE. It sure is shiney hu? Amazing what a little elbow grease does. Whatcha think?

Joe
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26085.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	248292   Click image for larger version

Name:	Up48676.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	248293   Click image for larger version

Name:	Qv54302.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	52.3 KB
ID:	248294   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ex69254.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	248295  
Old 03-24-2005, 11:30 AM
  #1522  
Kaos
 
Kaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 104
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I'm in the final stages of assembling my new U-Can-Do 3D .46 and I have a question about the fuel tank. It appears that the fuel tank is resting against the firewall and directly on wood beams or formers. Even the block of balsa that holds the tank in place is pressed directly against the back of the fuel tank. This type installation is contrary to everything I've been taught or learned about fuel tank installations. I have always thought it best to "float" the fuel tank in foam rubber to isolate the tank from engine vibration. This technique is supposed to minimize or eliminate the possibility of fuel foaming.

Have any of you UCD owners experienced fuel foaming problems?

Kaos
Old 03-24-2005, 11:36 AM
  #1523  
Barry Cazier
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Idaho Falls, ID
Posts: 3,931
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

I mounted mine like the instructions say. But I kinda shimed it in there with a bit of foam on either side and the top. I also put a small amount to the front of the tank. No I haven't had any foaming issues.
Thanks,
Barry
Old 03-24-2005, 11:39 AM
  #1524  
rclement
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
rclement's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 2,690
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Kaos, True, the tank is braced in there pretty good but I haven't had any problems at all with mine. No siphoning, no foaming problems that I know of. I have a Dubro shut off fuel on the side and that seems to work well with it so I don't think you should have any problems with it.
Old 03-24-2005, 11:43 AM
  #1525  
Kaos
 
Kaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
Posts: 104
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: U-Can-Do 3d 46?

Another question: what size prop would you recommend for an OS.50 when used in the UCS.46 airplane? I was thinking maybe a 13 x 4 or maybe a 12 x 5?

Kaos

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.