Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > AMA Discussions
Reload this Page >

Scale Combat Wingspan rules?

Notices
AMA Discussions Discuss AMA policies, decisions & any other AMA related topics here.

Scale Combat Wingspan rules?

Old 11-19-2009, 11:37 PM
ddemu

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scale Combat Wingspan rules?

I'm just getting into combat flying. I'm looking at flying Open-B because ti will be faster & cheaper to start with, but prefer to fly scale and will work up to that.

I fully support AMA, but I'm wondering why the 40" minimum wingspan would be set for scale when there don't appear to be any kits of that size in existance?

Kit producers seem to be disappearing at a reat of several a year. I'm wondering why the AMA would adopt a rule that effectively pushes more kit manufactuers out of business as they likely will choose NOT to re-tool to the enlarged size planes.

I can understand allowing larger planes (+10%), but why impose a minimum wingspan that is larger than the 1/12 scale the event was instituted upon?
Old 11-20-2009, 07:04 AM
cccdad

Default RE: Scale Combat Wingspan rules?

AMA 750 Combat is the same as RCCA 2610. that is the 12th scale combat +/- 10% of scale rule. 2548 is an RCCA event . Check on www.rccombat.com what events are being flown in your area. that might direct you as to what to build. There are also links to kit mfgrs for each. JKaerotech makes som every durable 2610 planes. Hat trick pretty muct has the market for 2548, though if you read the scale forum Texas Flugelworks (sp) is making some items and ther is a person out of West Palm FL that makes a great oscar kit for 2548.

FLwe have pretty much abandonded 2610, 2548 is a limited class withspec weight, prop and RPM. which seems to keep the damage down and the contest more about pilot skill.

Ihope this helps. you might get more response to use the RCCA forum, great group of guys.
Old 11-20-2009, 11:15 AM
ddemu