Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

GP Waco?

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

GP Waco?

Old 01-06-2011, 05:25 PM
  #76  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Thanks. Yes I have a 10x so I should be able to do that!
Old 01-07-2011, 08:13 AM
  #77  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

You can also do it mechanically by rotating the servo arm.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ca82123.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	1543535  
Old 01-07-2011, 09:07 AM
  #78  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Skillet, did you mean to say Hitec "645's" ? Correct me if I'm wrong. And that's excellent advice on the differential application. Futaba 3010's would also be an excellent choice for the four aileron servos. [Or even Hitec 475"s if available]. I'm 57 and the wife has caught me a couple times already stairing out the window with a smile on my face. She says. I'll bet your day-dreaming about flying that Waco, aren't you ?. Sure Honey, let me take you out to dinner tonight. MM
Old 01-07-2011, 10:03 AM
  #79  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

MM Yes I did! 625's on Ailerons and 645's on rudder and elevator! Yes my wife has caught on also! I was all set to buy a 30cc Sbach before Christmas for the DLE 30 that I have and as the days went by and no order she started asking wheres this new model you were talking about. Glad I waited to order the Sbach!! This one is going to cost me a dinner also because as she pointed out it is more expensive. LOL And I did not even tell her about the extra servo's. he he

That is a good Idea about the servo arms MinnFlyer.
Old 01-07-2011, 05:40 PM
  #80  
Thomas B
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,254
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I fly just two DS821 JR/Spektrum servos on my four ailerons on my 1/5 scale Cox Pica Waco and they work perfectly. I am overpowered with a 1.6 class electric motor and 20x12 prop.

I think any 4 basic standard servos of decent quailty will be more than enough for this model, even if it is overpowered.

Actually, I think GP loses some scale points for leaving off the aileron interconnects and going to 4 aileron servos. If I sell off my Cox/Pica and get the new GP Waco, I will likely go to two aileron servos and the interconnects. This is not a Monster Pitts or an Ultimate biplane...
Old 01-12-2011, 12:40 PM
  #81  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Look's like it's the end of this thread until this plane is shipped out to us customers. Waiting....waiting.......waiting....... MM
Old 01-12-2011, 12:50 PM
  #82  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: MormonMike

Look's like it's the end of this thread until this plane is shipped out to us customers. Waiting....waiting.......waiting....... MM

You could be building, building, building if you had ordered the AMA plans and our templates.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Old 01-12-2011, 12:51 PM
  #83  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: Stickbuilder

You could be building, building, building if you had ordered the AMA plans and our templates.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
<Chuckle>
Old 01-13-2011, 11:56 AM
  #84  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Yo guys, I am building. Nearing completion of an old Aerodrome Models kit Stinson Voyager 108-2. 74" wingspan. I'll post a photo tonight. MM
Old 01-16-2011, 10:53 AM
  #85  
skylarkmk1
 
skylarkmk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Festus, MO
Posts: 2,031
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Like Bill says, you could be building.

To install slave rods on a 4 servo aileron ship, make your rods slip by having a tube in a tube. Fix one end to lets say the lower aileron with a 1/8” tube and fix the other end to the upper aileron with a 5/32” tube slipped over the 1/8” tube. You will want one of the tubes to be non-metallic to prevent metal-to-metal interference and you will need the slip to be very free sliding to prevent binding and cause additional servo loads.

The pictures show the how the brackets are reversed on the full size to prevent binding and provide some differential.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki19788.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	18.6 KB
ID:	1548870   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki18162.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	22.7 KB
ID:	1548871  
Old 01-21-2011, 11:11 AM
  #86  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

This winter project is just about done. Now I'm just waiting for the WACO. MM
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	ay74622.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	3.56 MB
ID:	1550892   Click image for larger version

Name:	nk27834.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	3.52 MB
ID:	1550893   Click image for larger version

Name:	wu59782.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	3.48 MB
ID:	1550894   Click image for larger version

Name:	ay73915.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	3.50 MB
ID:	1550895  
Old 01-21-2011, 12:28 PM
  #87  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

That workshop is WAY too clean!
Old 01-21-2011, 03:22 PM
  #88  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Mike, can't help that. I'm retired US Air Force. It has to be very clean/organized........... MM
Old 01-22-2011, 02:09 AM
  #89  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I went in the opposite direction. In the Air Force I had to keep everything so clean that now I don't clean anything anymore
Old 01-22-2011, 03:24 AM
  #90  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Well I am a Tsgt in an Egress shop and at work I have to keep everything clean and organized but at home I can "rebel" a bit! LOL I am just waiting on the Waco to come out so I can get started. Have all the pieces now just require the plane!

Would like some input though, I am going the dle30 route and that engine will turn a nice size prop. What pitch do you guys think would be good for scale speed on the plane? Here is a pic of my last project.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	mk26449.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	1.54 MB
ID:	1551180   Click image for larger version

Name:	pl32234.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	1.57 MB
ID:	1551181  
Old 01-22-2011, 06:05 AM
  #91  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: skillet92

Well I am a Tsgt in an Egress shop and at work I have to keep everything clean and organized but at home I can ''rebel'' a bit! LOL I am just waiting on the Waco to come out so I can get started. Have all the pieces now just require the plane!

Would like some input though, I am going the dle30 route and that engine will turn a nice size prop. What pitch do you guys think would be good for scale speed on the plane? Here is a pic of my last project.
Something on the order of an 18X5 if you can find one. Nothing looks worse than a Waco or Cub keeping up with a Corsair of Mustang.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Old 01-22-2011, 01:25 PM
  #92  
Lifer
My Feedback: (1)
 
Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,287
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

A DLE 30 will turn a 20x6 quite well and would work nicely on the Waco bipe. It is just a tad fast on a Hangar Nine Taylorcraft with that engine/prop combination.
Old 01-22-2011, 02:12 PM
  #93  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

The DLE 30 would grossly overpower this model. The original was designed for a .60 to a .90 glow engine. A G-26 is a reasonable engine on the model, but a 30? I've flown one nicely on a Supertigre .75.

Bill, Waco Brother #1
Old 01-22-2011, 02:21 PM
  #94  
skillet92
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: camden, SC
Posts: 1,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Stickbuilder, Yes I don't want it to keep up with my corsair or Mustang! Both of those have 10pitchs. I want scale flight! As for the 30 being to much well the weight is almost 14 pounds and it being a Biplane it will have a lot of drag. I could use a G-26 but I have a dle30 here already.
Old 01-22-2011, 05:33 PM
  #95  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Yo BountyHunter51, Here's a pic of that Stinson emblem. Maybe that will give a better perspective. Overall, not too shabby of a winter project huh ? Seeya, MM
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	zx70020.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	3.54 MB
ID:	1551457   Click image for larger version

Name:	pn35803.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	3.59 MB
ID:	1551458  
Old 01-22-2011, 05:50 PM
  #96  
Thunderbolt47
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Thunderbolt47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Beulaville , NC
Posts: 2,143
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I had a Saito 120 on my Pica. It was underpowered. I later put on a 182 twin and she flew much better. but it still wasn't overpowered.
Old 01-22-2011, 05:59 PM
  #97  
MormonMike
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: millville, UT
Posts: 1,434
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

Well, if this WACO is similar to the GP Super Stearman, Weight and demension, I'm using an OS-1.20. on it, but it seems to pull it around quite well, little more than scale. And this is at 4500 feet altitude with a 16/6 prop. I dunno, to each his own i guess. MM
Old 01-22-2011, 10:36 PM
  #98  
Hellcat716
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Hellcat716's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,266
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

I believe a DLE 20 with a 17x6 prop would be fine.
Old 01-23-2011, 09:58 AM
  #99  
leedees
Senior Member
 
leedees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 321
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?

It appears an OS 91 FS will fit entirely inside the cowl. Any thoughts on whether the 91 would fly this 12 lb airplane in a scale manner?
Old 01-23-2011, 10:13 AM
  #100  
Stickbuilder
 
Stickbuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Leesburg, FL
Posts: 8,678
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: GP Waco?


ORIGINAL: leedees

It appears an OS 91 FS will fit entirely inside the cowl. Any thoughts on whether the 91 would fly this 12 lb airplane in a scale manner?
If you do the math, you will see that this model has nearly 1400 square inches of wing. It does not take much power to fly one at 12 lbs with that much wing area.

Bill, Waco Brother #1

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.